Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sionice

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 12, 2009
Hi there,

As usual, I'm new to the iPhone SDK and Objective C, though I currently have a basic application with a MainView.h that is tied into my Window/view via IB. It's declared using the UIView subclass

Code:
@interface MainView : UIView {

It's opened in my AppDelegate class with the following lines.
Code:
[mainView loadView];
[window makeKeyAndVisible];

I have several buttons on the view, and would like to use one of those buttons to transition to an alternate view. I can create the .xib file, though get extremely confused when I try to figure out how to link the button press to the pushing of a new view onto the stack.

What are the steps that I need to take to add a secondary view to my project, open that view with a standard button press, and then return to the main view? I don't really care if help is provided via IB or strictly in code. Any help you're able to provide is much appreciated.

Thanks,
- Sionice

Sionice

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 12, 2009
It sounds like you want to use UINavigationController.

Explaining each step needed to do that would be a little lengthy, try using that guide first. Let us know if you have any trouble getting through it.

Thanks for the reply; much appreciated. Though wouldn't that require the use of a navigation bar on the first/main page then? Or am I mistaken? I don't mind using a navigation bar on the second page to set a 'back' button in the upper left, though I want to make sure that using that feature doesn't require the use of such a UI element on the primary page.

However, I'd prefer to navigate between views simply on a custom button press event, rather than with a pre-built UI.

Spike099

macrumors regular
Feb 18, 2007
Canada
Yes you would have a navigation bar at the top of your first view. I figured you wouldn't mind having that.