Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

m0no

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 8, 2009
Hello All,

First of all, I'm new to Macs and I've been trying to figure this out for awhile and I'm stumped.

I have an Apple Cube with all the original system disks and I'm trying to use the System Restore disk to install the OS on a new hard drive with a Mac OS Extended Journaled partition. When I put in the System Restore cd (9.0.4) and hold the 'C' key, it boots to a solid gray screen and stops - nothing else happens.

In order to do a little testing, I put in my Macbook dvd and I'm able to boot from that but I'm unable to install (probably because it's only for my Macbook and/or because the cube doesn't meet requirements). However, I am able to see my hard drive in Disk Utility, so I know my hard drive is being recognized. I also used the hardware test cd that came with the Cube and everything passes. When I attempt to boot from the System Restore cd again, I still get the solid gray screen.

What am I missing? I thought this process would be fairly simple, but its proven me wrong. I'd appreciate any help/advice.

Thanks in advance!

BlueRevolution

macrumors 603
Jul 26, 2004
Montreal, QC
Sounds like the problem is with the disk itself. I'd try to find another copy of the operating system, on eBay or elsewhere. Depending on your system's specs, you could also think about upgrading to some version of OS X.

I find it interesting that the MacBook's restore DVD will even boot a PowerPC Mac. Unfortunately, it will only work on the computer it was shipped with.

m0no

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 8, 2009
Thanks for the suggestion. I'm going to try to use a 10.4 install disk tonight. Hopefully, that will work.

Consultant

macrumors G5
Jun 27, 2007
10.4 will work fine.
Don't install OS9 if possible.

You might also want to list system specs, such as amount of HD space and ram.

m0no