PDA

View Full Version : Switching to Mac




rick3000
Jan 27, 2009, 09:36 PM
Hi,
We just got my mom a Mac Mini for her Birthday, (I lost the battle to wait for the new one) and need some help setting up Fusion. She has been using XP for years, and need some help on the setup.
My first though was to clone her XP drive to a partition on the Mini. Would that work?
Then I was thinking about pulling the drive out and putting it in a external enclosure. Would that work?
My main question is, can I tell Fusion where to find the XP partition/drive, and have it work, or do I have to load XP through Fusion?
Thanks!



I'm a Mac
Jan 27, 2009, 10:34 PM
Well the simplest thing to do would be VMware's conversion tool to "convert" her existing PC into a VM file that could be used in VMware. http://www.vmware.com/download/fusion/importer_tool.html

rick3000
Jan 27, 2009, 11:05 PM
That looks promising, thanks.