Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Super Intendo

macrumors regular
Original poster
May 26, 2008
As the title implies, I'm a junior in high school. Also, I'm looking for advice.

I've been told I have a fair amount of talent in Art and while i don't particularly think that I am, I enjoy it alot and would like to get better and am more than likely going to school (college, university, etc) for it.

I've never done any serious digital art before, I've doodled in MS Paint throughout the years and Skitch, more recently. I just got illustrator and I'm enjoying it so far, once i get something thats really complete i'll post it.

I've come to the conclusion that the only way, any more, to make money (on a semi-frequent basis) in Art is Graphic Design, Industrial Design (oh how i dream of being Jonathan Ive) or Architecture. Please tell me I'm wrong.

Here's what I've got, some doodles from my sketchbook included (almost all low quality photos), basically I want advice on going digital, going to school, getting a job, anything.

http://flickr.com/photos/34142517@N07/sets/72157613035035607/

THANK YOU :)

3232849873_050b46fb71.jpg

set-72157613035035607

3233697902_cb3022fbcd.jpg

3233698222_456b730c53_b.jpg

3232848905_b02f92264d.jpg

suburbia

macrumors 6502
Oct 21, 2008
The answer is yes... Yes, you need to go to a good Art/Design institution in order to prepare yourself for the design industry. That, along with talent, passion, hard work and meeting the right people will get you to where you want to go.

When you've gotten yourself into a reputable institution, next step is to intern, and find yourself a mentor. You will learn so much more as an intern than you ever will sitting in a class. :)

ktbubster

macrumors 6502a
Jan 20, 2007
US
Yes