Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

megamouse

macrumors member
Original poster
Sep 7, 2008
Hi I am new to servers, but I am thinking to get one for my business, can a XServer do the following??

If I have four sets of monitors, keyboards and mouses, can I connect them to ONE XServer and let four people to use the Server at the same time?

I guess instead of four sets of peripherals, I need four Macs right? :D

But my boss need to save money, so please, can anyone clarify on that. Thanks guys.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Hi I am new to servers, but I am thinking to get one for my business, can a XServer do the following??

If I have four sets of monitors, keyboards and mouses, can I connect them to ONE XServer and let four people to use the Server at the same time?

I guess instead of four sets of peripherals, I need four Macs right? :D

But my boss need to save money, so please, can anyone clarify on that. Thanks guys.

Your "standard" UNIX can do what you want. THey have been used that way for over 30 years. If you were to buy good PC and load BSD Unix or Linux or Solaris it would support a lot more then four users. Max OS X is Unix and it would work and run unix apps but but Mac apps so an Xserve would be a waste

BUT. big "BUT" here what a user would see on the terminal is NOT the Mac OS X desktop. He'd see a command line prompt. From the prompt e's be able to start up the X11 graphical system and from there he could run a UNIX style desktop. It looks a little like Mac OS and MS Windows but not the same and of cource he'd only be able to run X11 programs -- Open Office, Gimp and so on. THey could work and many people do run small offices this way.