Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

louis0nfire

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Feb 22, 2008
I'm dead set on the Nikon D40, as I am just getting into DSLR's. But, I know it's been out for awhile now, and I'm just wondering if any updates or new lines from Nikon are on their way. I'd hate to buy it and then 2 months later they announce a new entry-level DSLR. Opinions? Thanks.

Cliff3

macrumors 68000
Nov 2, 2007
SF Bay Area
I'm dead set on the Nikon D40, as I am just getting into DSLR's. But, I know it's been out for awhile now, and I'm just wondering if any updates or new lines from Nikon are on their way. I'd hate to buy it and then 2 months later they announce a new entry-level DSLR. Opinions? Thanks.

PMA is next month (3/5-3/5) so if you want to wait for a potential product announcement before making a buying decision, those would be your next dates.

edit: and not to take this too far off track, but the D60 replaced the D40x in the US, but the D40x appears to be a currently available model in other markets. It is still listed as a current model on the Nikon Europe site, for example.

iTiki

macrumors 6502
Feb 9, 2007
Maui, Hawaii
For the price you can get a D40 for these days, I don't think you can lose. Awesome camera to take you through the DSLR learning curve. Many keep their D40s when they move up. Put the 18-200 on it and you will have an outstanding walk around or light travel camera when you are ready for the next level. Just my $.02:D

wheelhot

macrumors 68020
Nov 23, 2007
The D40X was discontinued though and the D60 is in a different category (not entry level/low budget).