PDA

View Full Version : iPod 5G 240GB HDD Upgrade




MacNoobie
Feb 4, 2009, 05:29 PM
http://reviews.cnet.com/8301-12519_7-10156972-49.html?tag=TOCmoreStories.0



chocolate632
Feb 4, 2009, 05:40 PM
That's amazing, but its not really worth it yet for $294

brn2ski00
Feb 4, 2009, 05:44 PM
was that an SSD disk?

HiFiGuy528
Feb 4, 2009, 06:11 PM
http://cache.gawker.com/assets/images/gizmodo/2009/02/itunes-mk2431gah-ipod-drive-upgrade.jpg

Toshiba MK2431GAH 240GB 8-mm hard drive

http://i.gizmodo.com/5146324/upgrade-your-ipod-video-to-240-gigabytes

Is it the HD that makes it cost so much or the work installing it?

vdubsf
Feb 4, 2009, 06:18 PM
wow, that's a lot of data for a lot of $$

iParis
Feb 4, 2009, 06:29 PM
I believe you can buy yourself a 250GB Tohisba drive and install it into an iPod classic, which I plan on doing.

http://cache.gawker.com/assets/images/gizmodo/2009/02/itunes-mk2431gah-ipod-drive-upgrade.jpg

Toshiba MK2431GAH 240GB 8-mm hard drive

http://i.gizmodo.com/5146324/upgrade-your-ipod-video-to-240-gigabytes

Is it the HD that makes it cost so much or the work installing it?

Probably the fact that they can do it.
Maybe one other reason is because it's a small hard drive, in thickness, they have another 240GB hard drive like it but it's thicker.

ozzyman500
Feb 5, 2009, 08:02 AM
I'd love to have a 240GB iPod...

Me needs for my classic now!

stevod
Feb 6, 2009, 12:57 PM
Does that drive fit in the slim classic, or just the thicker one?

S

bozz2006
Feb 6, 2009, 04:20 PM
it costs so much because it's new and it's the biggest capacity drive in that form factor. the cost doesn't include them installing it.

richardhunt
Feb 18, 2009, 01:15 PM
You cannot install it on a classic. Firmware doesn't see the 2 platters. So far it only works in 5G ipods.

iParis
Feb 18, 2009, 03:07 PM
You cannot install it on a classic. Firmware doesn't see the 2 platters. So far it only works in 5G ipods.

The firmware for the body of the 160GB iPod classic does see two platters.

wpc33
Feb 18, 2009, 06:43 PM
The firmware for the body of the 160GB iPod classic does see two platters.
You guys mean to tell me that the board of a 160 6G is different than an 80 or 120?
Why does ifixit sell a catch-all board that they say works in all Classics?
http://www.ifixit.com/iPod-Parts/iPod-Classic-Logic-Board/IF130-006

iParis
Feb 18, 2009, 07:21 PM
You guys mean to tell me that the board of a 160 6G is different than an 80 or 120?
Why does ifixit sell a catch-all board that they say works in all Classics?
http://www.ifixit.com/iPod-Parts/iPod-Classic-Logic-Board/IF130-006

Not sure about that, but I know the 160GB 6G iPod classic's Logic Board can read two platters, especially since the 160GB did have two platters in it.

wpc33
Feb 19, 2009, 05:22 PM
Not sure about that, but I know the 160GB 6G iPod classic's Logic Board can read two platters, especially since the 160GB did have two platters in it.
You are correct, obviously. Sorry, I think I should have specified richardhunt's comments as the puzzling one, alone.
I seriously doubt the unverified claim that a 120GB Classic's board will not read a two-platter HDD.

iParis
Feb 19, 2009, 05:33 PM
You are correct, obviously. Sorry, I think I should have specified richardhunt's comments as the puzzling one, alone.
I seriously doubt the unverified claim that a 120GB Classic's board will not read a two-platter HDD.

Doesn't matter, I don't think a two platter hard drive can fit inside the body of the 120GB iPod classic.