Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

neon

macrumors member
Original poster
Jan 27, 2004
UK
hi all

currently a windows user
i want to switch, and i was thinking of waiting for the g5 imac, but of course no one knows when they will be announced, so i was considering getting an emac in the meantime, but i dont know anything about them other than the price is pretty nice (though i am in the uk and we get ripped off regardless).

daily use is internet, im programmes, word processing (i'm studying literature), uploading/editing photos (nothing more than a hobby thats slipping by the wayside as i work longer hours and have more essays to do) so nothing too heavy. games dont bother me much, i play the sims and solitaire now and then but hardly on a regular basis.

on windows xp right now with 128 mb ram (yeah i know) and i have aim running 24/7, soulseek 24/7 (sorry if this community is anti-sharing), and of course itunes... i'm the type who never shuts down, only reboots about twice a week when things start getting slow.

reasons i was going to wait - well, whilst my computer use isnt anything out of the ordinary right now, i am looking to get a new camera and thus get into that hobby a little more, and perhaps a camcorder too. but if the imac IS updated inside of a year i'll feel awful if i spend £1400 on one NOW - but the emac cost i could justify, and then get an imac in about 18 months or so - but i absolutely do not trust this pc to last me that long, or even 12 months.

any advice/opinions/suggestions very welcome.

oh and when looking at the emac i was thinking 512 ram and 160gb hd so my total cost would be £800 and something (i would qualify for educational discount)
and i'd be looking to purchase in about 3 weeks (will any other updates affect the cost of these etc?)

Applespider

macrumors G4
Emac is great workhorse - just encouraged my sister to 'switch' to one.