PDA

View Full Version : MACBOOK Alu With KVR KINGSTONE 4gb ddr3?




brikro
Feb 7, 2009, 02:05 PM
hello any have this memories? works stable?
please i need information about this ! thanks



brikro
Feb 7, 2009, 08:00 PM
any answerr..?

brikro
Feb 8, 2009, 01:09 AM
i need help please

Patriks7
Feb 8, 2009, 06:52 AM
First off, don't really expect an answer on a weekend cause people are busy doing something else :p
Second, next time try providing a link, because after I Googled that RAM, I found nothing.
Third, I would either go with OWC or Crucial.
Take a look at the following:
http://eshop.macsales.com/item/Other%20World%20Computing/8566DDR3S4GP/
and
http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartspecs.aspx?mtbpoid=2E9B2B4EA5CA7304
Maybe if you could provide more info on that Kingston, I would be able to help you about that.

Tallest Skil
Feb 8, 2009, 06:57 AM
1. Don't bump threads.
2. Don't tell people not to expect an answer.
3. OWC, Crucial, or CanadaRAM rock, but there isn't anything wrong with Kingston; you just have to know what to get.

Here's a 4GB set: http://www.ec.kingston.com/ecom/configurator_new/partsinfo.asp?root=us&LinkBack=http://www.kingston.com&ktcpartno=KTA-MB1066K2/4G

Mikey B
Feb 8, 2009, 08:28 AM
If I don't buy RAM from here (http://tinyurl.com/3kk3pe) and install it myself, I'm going to a local Apple reseller that will install the OEM that Apple uses for $150, a pretty darn good deal in my book. But, $75 from OWC is a great price so it's going to come down to whether or not I feel like taking the bottom case off of my MB or not.

Macintosh Sauce
Feb 8, 2009, 08:39 AM
Get the RAM from OWC. I purchased their RAM for my aluminum MacBook and it is working perfectly. It took me about 15 minutes to install the new 4 GB RAM and I purchased a Newer Technology toolset from them to do it. They also have a video on how to install RAM in the new MacBooks. OWC's customer service is top notch too.

Patriks7
Feb 8, 2009, 09:02 AM
2. Don't tell people not to expect an answer.

That ":p" is there for a reason..

brikro
Feb 8, 2009, 11:37 AM
the OWZ anD CRUCIAL dont work , becouse they bring they instability

Tallest Skil
Feb 8, 2009, 11:40 AM
the OWZ anD CRUCIAL dont work , becouse they bring they instability

Have you tried them? They're rock-solid for hundreds of users.

brikro
Feb 8, 2009, 11:52 AM
no for macbook ALU , ddr3 memoris sodimm
any have a kvr memoris with macbook alu?

bozz2006
Feb 8, 2009, 01:21 PM
the reports of unstable RAM were not limited to OWC and Crucial, you just heard about those two brands the most since they are by far the two biggest 3rd party providers of RAM for macs.

the firmware update a while (couple months?) ago took care of the issues with 3rd party RAM upgrades in the macbooks and macbook pros.

brikro
Feb 9, 2009, 10:11 AM
i live in argentina! i can buy the kvr kingstone or supertalent, understand?

bozz2006
Feb 9, 2009, 10:16 AM
yes i understand! but you implied that you didn't want to buy crucial or OWC because of the kernel panic problems soon after release, so i addressed the issue that you brought up. understand?

samkhazary
Feb 10, 2009, 04:10 PM
I purchased Kingston ram for my uni-MB. Works great. Stable. No complaints. I feel Kingston's quality is better than Crucial's personally, having used them before.

bozz2006
Feb 10, 2009, 06:14 PM
what is it about kingston RAM that makes you feel that it is better quality than Crucial?

kelv1ntran
Feb 11, 2009, 03:44 AM
Get the RAM from OWC. I purchased their RAM for my aluminum MacBook and it is working perfectly. It took me about 15 minutes to install the new 4 GB RAM and I purchased a Newer Technology toolset from them to do it. They also have a video on how to install RAM in the new MacBooks. OWC's customer service is top notch too.

same here i got the4gb from owc and its been working great

KnightWRX
Feb 11, 2009, 05:13 PM
the reports of unstable RAM were not limited to OWC and Crucial, you just heard about those two brands the most since they are by far the two biggest 3rd party providers of RAM for macs.

the firmware update a while (couple months?) ago took care of the issues with 3rd party RAM upgrades in the macbooks and macbook pros.

That's not 100% true. I just RMA'd 4 GB of Crucial DDR3 because of Kernel Panics and I have the firmware update installed. I will see if the next set works better.