Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

wguitarg

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 11, 2009
Hello everyone,

I am currently a third year law student interested in starting my own practice. I would very much appreciate some advice and input on setting up a home office network that will be remotely and securely accessible. I am a lifelong PC user looking to make the switch. Here are my ideas:

Firewall/Router--->Gigabit Switch/Hub and connected to the hub would be my file server (thinking about a NAS with RAID here that would automatically backup to an external harddrivee and online backup) and an imAC. Printer would be connected either to file server or imac, if i even decide to have an i mac. My main thing here is security and remote access; therefore, I want all files on a file server in my office. I would also have a Mac Air or MacBook Pro for on the go, and connect cirectly into my file server like this: http://guides.macrumors.com/Using_Remote_File_Access_to_Save_Disk_Space_on_Your_MacBook_Air

or throguh a VPN or through the NAS's built in remote access software (like thhe Synology D-209+. Is this feasible and/or practical? I would have a website hosted off-site.

bobfitz14

macrumors 65816
Oct 14, 2008
Massachusetts
well...i don't have any help with the setup but i am very interested in going to law school myself so i would be willing to work for you:D

raf66

macrumors regular
Nov 29, 2008
Columbus, Ohio
wguitarg,

I had my own practice several years ago and used a Sony laptop as kind of the "hub" computer in the office. It was wireless so I made sure the router had a firewall (I didn't like Windows XP firewall that much) and I used a wireless printer server for both my laptop and my secretary's desktop. Worked like a charm. In fact, I still have/use my Sony laptop. Of course it's not nearly as nice as my new iMac.