Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

code.warrior

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 6, 2009
Hi,

Firstoff, I'm a newbie to Cocoa frameworks, Objective-C and iPhone development.
I'm working on an application, wherein I've decided to put an image in the ellipse which I'm filling up into a rectangle, using the normal
Code:
CGContextFillEllipseInRect()
method.
Now, I've been through the API reference, but I couldn't figure out a way to do this.
Can anyone suggest me something in this regards?

Thanks for reading through, appreciate your help.

jnic

macrumors 6502a
Oct 24, 2008
Cambridge
Here's all the sample code you'll ever need: http://developer.apple.com/document...wToQuartz2D/tq_other/chapter_3_section_6.html

If you just want to draw a shape and return it as a UIImage, something like this should do the trick:

Code:
// Set these yourself.
CGSize yourSize;
CGRect yourRect;

// Context.
UIGraphicsBeginImageContext(yourSize);
CGContextRef context = UIGraphicsGetCurrentContext();

// Fill color.
CGContextSetRGBFillColor(context, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0);

// Your drawing code.
CGContextFillEllipseInRect(context, yourRect);

// Get the image and return.
UIImage *image = UIGraphicsGetImageFromCurrentImageContext();
UIGraphicsEndImageContext();

return image;

code.warrior

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 6, 2009
Here's all the sample code you'll ever need: http://developer.apple.com/document...wToQuartz2D/tq_other/chapter_3_section_6.html

If you just want to draw a shape and return it as a UIImage, something like this should do the trick:

Code:
// Set these yourself.
CGSize yourSize;
CGRect yourRect;

// Context.
UIGraphicsBeginImageContext(yourSize);
CGContextRef context = UIGraphicsGetCurrentContext();

// Fill color.
CGContextSetRGBFillColor(context, 1.0, 0.0, 0.0, 1.0);

// Your drawing code.
CGContextFillEllipseInRect(context, yourRect);

// Get the image and return.