Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

pacific707

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jan 9, 2007
I am trying to learn Objective-c and have picked up a couple of books. both say i should learn some basic c before I read them. I have been a filemaker developer for years and have some basic skills at php. so i understand the universal concepts like variables, loops, functions, compiling, etc. I am having a hard time getting pointers because of the positioning of the * or something. Sometimes the * is by the variable and sometimes its a space away ( int* variable or int *variable )
anyway its is necessary that i learn this down pat or can i just move on? Where is a good explanation about pointers?
Is there a good source for learning just the amount of c I need before jumping into objective-C?

any help appreciated thanks

gnasher729

Suspended
Nov 25, 2005
Sometimes the * is by the variable and sometimes its a space away ( int* variable or int *variable )
anyway its is necessary that i learn this down pat or can i just move on? Where is a good explanation about pointers?

It doesn't make a difference whether you write "int* variable" or "int *variable" or "int * variable" or "int*variable"; they all mean exactly the same thing to the compiler. The last two are quite horrible because they look like a multiplication, and therefore make your code hard to read. I use "int* variable" if the emphasis is on "variable" pointing to one or more integers, and "int *variable" if the emphasis is on an integer that is somewhere and can be reached through the pointer "variable", but that is just style.

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
I'll jump in and say: