Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

xvrockerlouvx

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 15, 2008
So I got my Nikon D40 the other day. I went into shutter priority mode to try and take some blurred water shots, and they came fairly good. What I want to know is what the default shutter speed is in shutter priority mode. I want it back to what it was when I first turned the camera on. Since I am very new to photography, I want to know the default because I'd like to know the middle ground point and then from there I can adjust higher or lower. Thanks

rogersmj

macrumors 68020
Sep 10, 2006
Indianapolis, IN
I don't know what the default setting was, but you can do a master reset and it will reset all your settings.

I'm not sure why knowing the default is all that important though. It's just a shutter speed, you should experiment with various speeds depending on your subject to see what works best.

xvrockerlouvx

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 15, 2008
I don't know what the default setting was, but you can do a master reset and it will reset all your settings.

I'm not sure why knowing the default is all that important though. It's just a shutter speed, you should experiment with various speeds depending on your subject to see what works best.

Well I'm not sure what a good setting would be for certain things, as well as not knowing how much or how little each setting changes the picture. I wouldn't know the correct starting point basically.

jaseone

macrumors 65816
Nov 7, 2004
Houston, USA
There is no one starting point for shutter speed, there are general rules of thumb for different focal lengths but it really depends upon the shot you are trying to capture. There are just too many variables that come into play.