Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Steve C

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 19, 2009
I am relatively new to php and I have a problem that I can't figure out regarding some scripts I found online that I wish to use to study OOP. Here is the URL:

http://www.hosting.vt.edu/tutorials/phpmysql/#about

The scripts are located under the section "Putting it all together in web-based personal address book" (at least 3/4 of the way down the page).

The scripts are entitled:

dbconnect.php
listcontacts.php
addcontact.php
editcontact.php
deletecontact.php

I reconfigged the dbconnect.php (I am not running PEAR, couldn't get it configged on my Leopard box) and am making the connection fine (I pulled data out of it to an altered version of the dbconnect.php script as a test)... but when I try to run listcontacts.php (or any of the others) I get the following error message from Safari:

"Parse error: syntax error, unexpected T_STRING in /Users/steve/Sites/address book/listcontacts.php on line 5"

Here is the code for line 5:

if ( isset($_GET['sort']) && $_GET['sort']=='firstname' ) { $_SESSION['sort'] = 'firstname'; } else { $_SESSION['sort'] = 'lastname'; }

What I'm asking is if someone would take the time to copy the scripts and run them to see if they can get them working.

Thanks
Steve C

angelwatt

Moderator emeritus
Aug 16, 2005
USA
Can you post a few more lines from that file where the error comes up, like the first 7 lines? Sometimes the source of the error comes from another line nearby. I was having issues bringing up the link, probably an issue on my end. The code you posted looks structured correctly.

Steve C

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 19, 2009