PDA

View Full Version : Linking to products on Newegg




MarkMS
Feb 20, 2009, 02:57 AM
I was previewing a post I wrote and wanted to make sure the links were properly linking to their respective sites. I clicked on the link I made pointing to Newegg and I saw it redirect to something like jdoqocy.com/click-"some numbers then the url". I made sure that I posted the right link and it was just the regular newegg.com URL in the editor.

Example:
This: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820233075

becomes this: http://www.jdoqocy.com/click-3160356-10521304?URL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.newegg.com%2FProduct%2FProduct.aspx%3FItem%3DN82E16820233075

Just want to make sure MR knows about this. If this is for revenue, then I don't mind. I just thought I had some DNS servers hacked or something.

P.S. I know I'm a paranoid security freak! :eek:



Rower_CPU
Feb 20, 2009, 03:24 AM
Looks like there's a hidden image in front of the URL that's getting added, too.

Where are you grabbing that URL from?

Test: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820233075 - typed this in manually and it's OK

We'll investigate and get back to you.

MarkMS
Feb 20, 2009, 05:46 AM
Just from Safari, in OS X Leopard with all updates. All I did was copy the link from the URL bar, go to the post, press the hyperlink button in the editor and paste. Same is happening to MacMall links.

http://www.macmall.com/macmall/families/new_promo~dp~7684018~family~macbook~promo~4.asp

but it links to

http://www.anrdoezrs.net/click-3160356-10581103?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.macmall.com%2Fmacmall%2Ffamilies%2Fnew_promo%7Edp%7E7684018%7Efamily%7 Emacbook%7Epromo%7E4.asp

I'm beginning to think it's something on my side! Any suggestions? I'm checking my DNS on all my Macs and all they link to is my private 192.168.x.x router address. Also, the link you posted looks clean to me too! Just says newegg.com/product ... in the status bar. I tried typing mine out and it still does the jdoqocy.com thing. Even straight copying and pasting your link doesn't help.

Did a quick Google search and Alexa is saying that these sites are coming from a company called Commission Junction or cj.com

P.S. The MacMall link on this post (http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=1459501&postcount=1) from the username MacRumors does a similar thing. Instead, it links to http://www.jdoqocy.com/click-462641-54376.

P.P.S I'm almost certain this isn't on my side. See AskDaveTaylor.com (http://www.askdavetaylor.com/how_to_get_affiliate_links_commission_junction_cj.html) article. Still bothers me that your link is "clean", yet mine isn't!

WildCowboy
Feb 20, 2009, 09:07 AM
Here is a previous thread about this topic. We're still playing around with this plug-in.

MarkMS
Feb 20, 2009, 01:25 PM
Here is a previous thread about this topic. We're still playing around with this plug-in.

Thank you for the link. Do you, by any chance, know why Rower_CPU's link doesn't do this? It doesn't go through the referral process.

WildCowboy
Feb 20, 2009, 02:16 PM
Good question...I don't know the details of how it works.

I would think it should be picking up his link, but for some reason it isn't.

arn
Feb 21, 2009, 03:20 AM
yeah, this is an auto-referral mod we've been testing on and off. it transparently (well, almost) converts links to referral/commission links when available.

arn