Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

jeffy.dee-lux

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 19, 2003
montreal
Hello all, I've started following this forum lately as I'm hoping to start making use of my MBP for music a lot more. I play guitar, bass, drums, and a few others, I've done some recording on GB for fun just with the built in mic and plugging instruments directly to the Audio-In. Now I've decided its time to do this a bit more seriously, I'm a university student so I can get Logic pretty cheap, and otherwise I'm scoping craigslist for some of the hardware I'd like.

I've just spotted an ad for a 1-year-old Presonus Firepod. It's selling for $500 (Canadian) including 8 XLR cables (claiming the Firepod is worth 700 and the cables are worth 300). I was just hoping somebody on here might have a feel for whether this is indeed a good deal or not. The ad says the thing is good as new, only used a couple times to record drums.

I was originally looking at 2 channel interfaces, since for the time being I won't be doing much more than just solo stuff by myself. But I could imagine recording with some friends down the road, and maybe mic-ing up my drums properly some day, and at first glance, this seems to be a good deal to me.

I've also been looking into the world of MPCs lately, eyeing a used MPC1000, but that's a whole other story.

Anyway, thanks a lot for the input.

Jeff

pkoch1

macrumors 6502a
Oct 3, 2007
Boston
http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/PreSonus-FP10-10x10-FireWire-Interface?sku=242036

http://accessories.musiciansfriend....Gear-XLR-Microphone-Cable-10-Pack-?sku=360433

Those are two links to the American http://www.musiciansfriend.com. I don't imagine the Canadian prices would be too different as our money is pretty close in value now. The firepods go for $400 new, and you can get a good pack of cables for much less than $300.