Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

greenbreadmmm

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jun 4, 2007
I have $2500 sitting around making no interest. i know apple stock is cheap now and I'm new at investing. I also know apple stock was almost at $200 a share a year ago. do you think it would be wise to invest this money in apple stock? i mean it has to go back up eventually right and should only get better as apples market share expands? thanks

BigHungry04

macrumors 6502
Mar 14, 2008
Kentucky
It depends on when we hit bottom, and the level of risk you're willing to take. Basically my investment advice is this: If you can afford to lose 100% of your investment go ahead and invest. Otherwise, keep it in a money market fund or in a traditional savings account. Making 0.3% is better than nothing.

trule

macrumors 6502
Mar 16, 2007
do you think it would be wise to invest this money in apple stock?

No, I don't think it would be a wise decision for you.

In these market conditions Apple could easily loose another 50% or more. Even if Apple is half as good as you think it is your $2500 worth of opinion is no match for the markets opinion.

Important lesson: Apple is more or less the same 1 year ago as it is today on all measures and still the stock price has fallen 50% since then, same company half the price. So we can assume that Apple is not the determining factor in the price of Apple stock. Most likely the 200 price was an aberration in the opinion of the markets and may not be seen again for many years to come.

After all to go from 200 to 100 is a 50% fall, to go from 100 to 200 is a 100% gain, that's double the distance to recover the loss...not so easy.

heehee

macrumors 68020
Jul 31, 2006
Same country as Santa Claus