PDA

View Full Version : Finding freelance work

ryanjm27
Mar 4, 2009, 06:51 PM
Hi everyone,

I've been reading these forums for awhile and only recently signed up and started posting. I've found many of the topics and the frequent posters to be quite helpful, so I look forward to participating.

I currently work as a web producer for a medium sized company. I specialize in front end development (XHMTL/CSS) and have a pretty good grasp with PHP and Javascript.

Anyhow, a co-worker and I are thinking of doing some freelance work on the side (like everyone else these days, we're looking to make some extra money). Between the two of us we feel like we could offer a great service to potential clients, but we're not really sure how to find them and approach them with a proposal.

We've obviously checked out Craigslist and most of the major job boards. It seems like most of those jobs are small and people only wish to pay $500 for weeks of work. And I'm sure each of those jobs has LOTS of applicants.

So I was hoping to get your input on the best ways to both find and approach potential clients with your services. Specifically, what's the best way to get started? We like to think that once we get some clients under our belt, word of mouth will take over, but until then...we're kind of stuck.

Thanks!

lucidmedia
Mar 4, 2009, 09:37 PM
Hi everyone,

I've been reading these forums for awhile and only recently signed up and started posting. I've found many of the topics and the frequent posters to be quite helpful, so I look forward to participating.

I currently work as a web producer for a medium sized company. I specialize in front end development (XHMTL/CSS) and have a pretty good grasp with PHP and Javascript.