Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Earendil

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 27, 2003
Washington
Quite simply put, I'd like to explore and make sure of analog signals, by reading them into my Apple computer.
I'm a CS major, so have programmings knowledge (without the in-depth industry know-how), and am just now taking an intro electronics class (building simple circuits).

What I can't find using google, is the difficulty level of getting an analog signal into a computer, and how much such a venture would cost. I'm a curious student, not a business man with capital and an idea to sell :)
Are there Libraries built into Object-C to handle such a task? Or will devices come with an SDK to make that software to hardware mesh?

Could someone lay the general idea down for me?
Bonus points for sticking around to answer any specifics I might have.
Bonus points and a brownie if you tell me that it's as easy to interface an analog signal with a Mac, as it is with an iPhone ;-)

Cheers!
~Tyler

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
You need to be a bit more specific. Is this analog signal a sound? If so you could just record it via the mic, then do whatever you want with the resulting digital data. I am guessing this is not it, but you didn't mention at all, so who knows? Essentially the first "hard" part of this is getting the analog signal digital and getting the digital signal in to your machine. Do you know if there's already something like this for the device in question that converts the signal into a digital format? If so, what interface is available (USB, Firewire, serial, parallel, etc)? If not, are you going to have to construct your own?

Once you have a means of digital acquisition of the raw data, you'll need a "driver" to actually gather this up and make it available on the system. I don't know much about how one goes about writing such a thing, but i'm betting others do.