PDA

View Full Version : FSB Bottleneck on 2009 MP




ggg05a
Mar 10, 2009, 06:47 PM
Hey All:

Why is the FSB on the 09 MP at 1066 what then CPU is capable of running 1333? Would simple memory replacement fix this issues with MPs running dual x5550s and x5570s?

Also, any ideas as to why Apple didn't make the W5580 available on the 09MP?

Thanks!

--Garrett



eelmac
Mar 10, 2009, 06:58 PM
Hey All:

Why is the FSB on the 09 MP at 1066 what then CPU is capable of running 1333? Would simple memory replacement fix this issues with MPs running dual x5550s and x5570s?

Also, any ideas as to why Apple didn't make the W5580 available on the 09MP?

Thanks!

--Garrett

This aint my topic area but i've never came across a CPU and ram that have the same FSB(not that i can remember anyway), currently in my PC my CPU is higher than my ram


edit: hmmm i might have miss read that ;)

bozz2006
Mar 10, 2009, 06:59 PM
Their is no FSB on the new mac pros. The nehalem chips replace the FSB with a high-speed internal bus called Quick Path Interconnet

The RAM is 1066, not the FSB