PDA

View Full Version : More than one extra Monitor - iMac




Josh Kahane
Mar 15, 2009, 02:35 PM
Hi

I currently have one 19" Samsung monitor connected to my iMac via the Mini-DVI. I am looking to get another monitor hooked up, but of course there aren't any more video ports.

Are there any alternatives? to have two monitors connected to my iMac? I have heard of the DualHead2Go product, and possibly connecting via USB?

I would appreciate any help on the matter, any info on the above and if there are any other methods. Thanks.



Hellhammer
Mar 15, 2009, 02:58 PM
I think that the GPU can handle only 2 monitors, because it has only 2 ports, one for iMac's monitor and another for Mini Display Port. I don't know are there any tricks to make it 3 but I've never heard that you can hook something to USB and get it work

Josh Kahane
Mar 15, 2009, 03:11 PM
USB to DVI:
http://reviews.cnet.com/graphics-cards/tripp-lite-usb-2/4505-8902_7-33428157.html

There are lots of different ones, just an example.

DualHead2Go:
http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/dh2go/#close


Would to hear some opinions on these products. Also, do you think it would work?

EDIT:

Ok so I now know that the DualHead2Go will work.
http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/support/compatibility/gxm/

Hellhammer
Mar 15, 2009, 03:18 PM
USB to DVI:
http://reviews.cnet.com/graphics-cards/tripp-lite-usb-2/4505-8902_7-33428157.html

There are lots of different ones, just an example.

DualHead2Go:
http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/products/gxm/dh2go/#close


Would to hear some opinions on these products. Also, do you think it would work?

EDIT:

Ok so I now know that the DualHead2Go will work.
http://www.matrox.com/graphics/en/support/compatibility/gxm/

I can't see why not. What GPU you got? ATI 2400?

Josh Kahane
Mar 15, 2009, 03:32 PM
Yep. I went through the compatibility thing and it says im supported. Im just wondering of there is a cheaper alternative?

Hellhammer
Mar 15, 2009, 03:48 PM
Yep. I went through the compatibility thing and it says im supported. Im just wondering of there is a cheaper alternative?

I'm still suspicious about your GPU. It isn't so powerful that it could handle 3 displays (over 60") smoothly. Of course you can try but don't blame me if it doesn't work.