PDA

View Full Version : G4 Gigabit Ethernet won't "do" 1440x900




mr1970
Mar 23, 2009, 04:24 AM
Morning all

I have a Gigabit Ethernet G4 with the original AGP ATI Rage 128 graphics card. I'm using it as a media server and in order to save space decided to stick it on the same monitor as the other machines using a 4-way KVM switch.

The monitor's a Samsung 940MG, which has a native resolution of 1440 x 900. Problem is, on switching to the Mac, it outputs at 1024 x 768 (which it was previously running at into a 15" Apple Studio Display) and there doesn't appear to be an option to display at 1440 x 900 - although there are many higher resolutions available.

I went to the ATI site and downloaded what I thought were the new drivers, restarted the machine and everything was fine. Turned the machine off last night, got up this morning, turned it back on again and it's reverted to 1024 x 768 with no option of 1440x900.

Any suggestions?

Many thanks

A



ewilson6
Mar 23, 2009, 04:47 AM
If your monitor is VGA then goto monitors control panel, click on detect display then click on show all resolutions.

One of them should be 1440 X 900.

--Eric

mr1970
Mar 23, 2009, 05:14 AM
Well, that's what I was hoping for but the Detect Displays option seems to have mysteriously disappeared!

I'm running Tiger, if that helps by the way

Thanks