Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

derek1984

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 5, 2008
I am new to the whole Mac thing after using a PC all my life. I am learning new things everyday about my MBP. My question is, what are some good applications I can download for free on the Apple website? Any good apps that can clean-up my MBP to make it run faster, anything that might help it from viruses...anything cool that has to do with music and sports, battery health, etc. Just anything useful that you guys really like and would recommend. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

simulacrum

macrumors newbie
Feb 20, 2008
If you're into web design, I just love Cyberduck, an FTP and SFTP program. Also, Audacity for audio recording, and Prism for audio/video file conversion.

A La Fizzykil

macrumors newbie
Mar 31, 2009
There are no known viruses for Mac, so don't worry about that. In regards to software, how about let us know a bit of what you might be doing?

If you're simply looking for cool software, then there is a great search engine for MacRumors called MRoogle.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
I am new to the whole Mac thing after using a PC all my life. I am learning new things everyday about my MBP. My question is, what are some good applications I can download for free on the Apple website? Any good apps that can clean-up my MBP to make it run faster, anything that might help it from viruses...anything cool that has to do with music and sports, battery health, etc. Just anything useful that you guys really like and would recommend. Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

The best thing is NOT to go just looking for anything that is free.

What you need to do is state a problem to be solved and ask how best to solve it. That and learn to use what you have. For example you ask about "music" Well you have Garage Band already on the computer. There si a big learning curve.