Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mattpreston11

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Nov 9, 2007
hey, just wonderin what is the best method for learning how to make apps. i know everybodys asks the same thing, but im wondering the best way to go about it. i was looking for a book, but there doesnt seem to be any for total beginners.

ive done programming before, but i would consider myself a total beginner because i cant remember much of it.

quite eager to learn, should i get an objective C book or is there any iphone sdk books that are for total beginners?

i have done some tutorials online, video ones, i got some hello world apps going, but diddnt really understand what was going on so that i could go on from there.

hope someone can help or point me in some good direction.

thanks x

dejo

Moderator emeritus
Sep 2, 2004
The Centennial State
quite eager to learn, should i get an objective C book or is there any iphone sdk books that are for total beginners?
I don't think there is any book for iPhone development that assumes its readers are total beginners. They assume some knowledge of Objective-C. Therefore, start with an Objective-C book and then progress to an iPhone development book.

mav814

macrumors member
Mar 26, 2009
I don't think there is any book for iPhone development that assumes its readers are total beginners. They assume some knowledge of Objective-C. Therefore, start with an Objective-C book and then progress to an iPhone development book.

This is true and also some objective c books even assume you have knowledge in C or C++ (which of course is better to have anyway). So I would start with a C++ basic intro and just get the hang of it, not necessarily able to code programs, but know the fundamentals. That's what I've done and am now reading an objective c book and its clearer now. Hope this helps.

gusapple

macrumors 6502a