PDA

View Full Version : Ad for iPhone knockoff on front page of MacRumors




japanime
Apr 3, 2009, 06:03 PM
BUYERS BEWARE:

MacRumors is currently running an ad on its front page for a counterfeit iPhone. It looks exactly like an iPhone, and says it's only $159.99. But if you click through to the ad, it takes you to a page that is selling something called the "HiPhone." I'm sure it's just as craptacular as its cheesy name.

I realize the ad is probably coming from a third party that serves ads to a number of websites, incuding MR, but it seems that MacRumors could at least block that service from posting ads for fake iPhones.

I've took a screenshot of the ad, and can post it anyone doubts my story. But it's easy enough to verify on your own -- just look at the front page of MR right now. Hopefully the admins will see this forum post, though, and remove the ad.



Tokiopop
Apr 3, 2009, 06:06 PM
I saw a cheeky one saying something like "Get a 3G Phone for ..." (it was something like £50) :p

But as stated somewhere, MacRumors is not responsible for the ads displayed.

xUKHCx
Apr 3, 2009, 06:07 PM
Moved to site and forum feedback. If you could post the screenshot and the URL that would be great.

From the FAQ (http://guides.macrumors.com/Help:MacRumors_FAQ#Why_do_I_see_a_certain_ad_at_MacRumors.3F)



MacRumors uses an advertising service that supplies ads from a pool. We do not select the specific ads shown or the specific advertisers who participate. Sometimes you will see an ad that doesn't seem suitable for an Apple-related discussion site, such as an ad for Windows-only software. If so, don't worry about it. Ads support the site, and allow us to provide news and discussion forums free to members and site visitors.

If you find a particular ad especially annoying (e.g., an ad that is oversized or has sound), let us know by posting a screenshot of it in our Site and Forum Feedback forum. If you can also tell us the URL it links to, that can help. Using this information, we can ask to have it removed from the ad pool.

japanime
Apr 5, 2009, 03:31 AM
Moved to site and forum feedback. If you could post the screenshot and the URL that would be great.

Thanks for moving the post to the appropriate section.

The ad was a Flash graphic, so I didn't get the URL. However, here's my screenshot of the ad:

http://www.cablenet.ne.jp/%7ejapanime/mr_ad.png

Hope this helps.

Mr. lax
Apr 5, 2009, 02:16 PM
Thanks for moving the post to the appropriate section.

The ad was a Flash graphic, so I didn't get the URL. However, here's my screenshot of the ad:

http://www.cablenet.ne.jp/%7ejapanime/mr_ad.png

Hope this helps.

The company name is trustful? Very nice