PDA

View Full Version : G5 Ram upgrade pc3200 or pc4200 ???




Timid&friendly
Apr 6, 2009, 01:39 AM
Hi!

I have a first generatie (june 2004, 8 slots) G5 dual processor 2.0mhz

Can i use pc-4200 instead of pc-3200?

I want to do simply because it's cheaper that the standard 3200 ram.
The second generation G5 2.0mhz dual (late 2005) does use 4200 ram so i thought it should be possible, but i'd don't want to blow up the world:eek:, if you get my drift?:rolleyes:

Is it possible? What are the benefits, and or disadvantages



r.j.s
Apr 6, 2009, 02:00 AM
If it came with 3200, then that is what it can use. You generally can't add faster RAM to older slots. Some will underclock, but the performance can be spotty at best.