PDA

View Full Version : Power mac g4




groovdudeyo
Apr 6, 2009, 08:17 PM
is this thing any good my grandpa just got it from his old office and its never been opened its missing the power cord but it looks like i could use a different one that fits is this safe? how long does it take to install all the stuff it looks like it has TWENTY MILLION DISKS. thanks



groovdudeyo
Apr 7, 2009, 11:28 AM
Okay maybe I should be a little more clear I want to know if I have to buy specific power cord or can I just use one that fits. It appears that it uses the same power cord that most pcs use (this is my first mac). Also is this gonna be a really suckish computer by todays standards I dont have the power cord so of course I cant use it yet. It is the 2003 model I think and costed $10000 at the time so im hoping its pretty pimped out still. And if I were to try to sell it how much could I get (range). I might say its got a ghost attached or something:p:p

SmurfBoxMasta
Apr 7, 2009, 11:41 AM
A standard peecee power cord will work. Once you get it booted up, look for the little apple in the top left corner of the screen and click on "about this mac". There you can get some basic specs on the machine such as cpu, ram and OS version......

then click on the "more info" button, which will open the System Profiler and there you can get detailed info on all system components, hardware ect.......

then post back with the details and we can tell you whazzuppppwitdamachine :eek:

GGGUUUYYY
Apr 7, 2009, 11:43 AM
Does it have a mirror drive door?

Shake 'n' Bake
Apr 7, 2009, 11:43 AM
Yes you can use any cord that fits. The ones from Apple look really cool though.

We could better appraise your PM if you booted it up (it has all those discs installed).

Follow the setup instructions and log in.

Then click on the Apple icon (that's the Apple Menu) and click "About this Mac".

Tell us what it says.

Hope I can help!

groovdudeyo
Apr 7, 2009, 11:46 AM
well since it should be a couple hours before i can boot it up just tell me are power mac g4s ever suckish? also can it run leopard or whatever?

SmurfBoxMasta
Apr 7, 2009, 11:50 AM
If it is indeed a 2003 model, then it should be an early Mirrored Drive Door (MDD) model (there were several released that year) any of which are perfectly capable of running leopard, if it has sufficient ram, hdd space, and video card...........

Depending on what you wanna use it for, it will NOT be suckish at all :p

Shake 'n' Bake
Apr 7, 2009, 12:01 PM
The Power Mac G4 will work super well. Before I got my mac mini, I was looking for a dual 1 GHz G4. That'll run Leopard just fine.

They're some of the best looking computers ever too.

groovdudeyo
Apr 7, 2009, 12:04 PM
The Power Mac G4 will work super well. Before I got my mac mini, I was looking for a dual 1 GHz G4. That'll run Leopard just fine.

They're some of the best looking computers ever too.

It does look pretty cool and i guess i must have the 2002 model then cuz no mirror door thingy.

Shake 'n' Bake
Apr 7, 2009, 12:12 PM
This (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3082?viewlocale=en_US) and this (http://support.apple.com/kb/TA25585?viewlocale=en_US) will help you figure out which PM you have. Look for similarities between the computer and the pictures.

Let us know what you have when you find out!

PS: The model # would be the easiest thing to use. It is a sticker on the back somewhere.

kindablue09
Apr 7, 2009, 12:27 PM
Only downside is that it cannot run certain games that require intel (if thats what you planned on pimpin it out for)

Shake 'n' Bake
Apr 7, 2009, 12:32 PM
Only downside is that it cannot run certain games that require intel (if thats what you planned on pimpin it out for)

Other than that, there's really nothing you can't do on a G4. It is amazing how the Apple hardware lasts so much longer then PC hardware.

It holds its value much longer as well. I've got one of the original iMacs and I wonder what that will be worth in 10 years...