PDA

View Full Version : Macbook Pro Hardware issue or driver?




camboh
Apr 9, 2009, 01:15 PM
Hello, I was hoping anyone, anyone at all could help me with this problem that has really been frustrating me. I purchased my 15" Macbook Pro 2.8, 250G 7200 HD, 9600m GT right after they were released late last year. I installed Windows XP on it via bootcamp 2.1 and have played Company of Heroes perfectly on it. Well I unistalled it and installed Vista and the game was sluggish, so I reinstalled XP and now I have the same results. I have disable the wireless driver and that helped a little but still nothing like it was when I first bought it. Has anyone else had this problem? I have even completely erased the HD, reinstalled OS X and then XP and still the same glitchy like problem. I have run the game on the lowes graphics possible and it doe the same thing. IS IT A DRIVER ISSUE OR HARDWARE PROBLEM? I just don't know what else to do, and where I have run it on this same laptop without any problems I am wondering what is the deal? Please HELP!



illegallydead
Apr 9, 2009, 01:35 PM
Have you perhaps updated the game itself? Perhaps a new patch has made it sluggish or something...

The only thing I can think of is that maybe it is not addressing your discrete graphics card somehow? Not sure how that would have happened or what you could do to fix it, though...

Good luck with this!

Consultant
Apr 9, 2009, 01:40 PM
google: nvidia drivers
and install the relevent one in windows.

illegallydead
Apr 9, 2009, 01:43 PM
google: nvidia drivers
and install the relevent one in windows.

ahha. That would do it. In the mess of updates, reinstalls, and clean installs, that could easily have been overlooked, I am guessing...

camboh
Apr 9, 2009, 11:54 PM
Thanks for the replies. I have also reinstalled the game right after I installed windows,without updating windows or patching the game, and tried it and still a bit sluggish. Then I update windows and tried it, and still. Then patch the game and still!? Updating the graphics drivers is a bit tricky since it won't automatically update it, but I guess I should learn how and try that next. Just strange that wiping the HD clean and reinstalling it and not finding the same performance I had when I first bought it. Just hope there are no hardware issues.

camboh
Apr 11, 2009, 11:41 PM
Well managed to update my driver to latest. Still not much improvement. I am starting to worry it is some kind of hardware issue, but I will never know until my apple warranty runs out. Any suggestions on what you would do?

shoulin333
Apr 12, 2009, 03:41 AM
Perhaps you need to run smc fan control and set the fans up to 6000rpm before you boot into windows.

Apple has released a firmware update that changes how the fans react to temps, this makes the fans not come on soon enough in windows, thus the mbp gets hot and the GPU and CPU throttle down to keep themselves cool. Keeping the fans up high manually will prevent this throttling.

Also be sure that you are plugged into the AC jack, by default Nvidia drivers cut your fps down to near nothing when running on battery to save battery.

illegallydead
Apr 12, 2009, 11:56 AM
Well managed to update my driver to latest. Still not much improvement. I am starting to worry it is some kind of hardware issue, but I will never know until my apple warranty runs out. Any suggestions on what you would do?

You should still be under warranty, yes?

If you are concerned that it is a hardware issue than by all means take it into an Apple Store and have them check it. Better safe than sorry! Take advantage of that warranty while you still have it!

shoulin333
Apr 12, 2009, 12:29 PM
You should still be under warranty, yes?

If you are concerned that it is a hardware issue than by all means take it into an Apple Store and have them check it. Better safe than sorry! Take advantage of that warranty while you still have it!

Apple is not going to find anything wrong if you have to be in windows to pla games, they wont boot into windows to check, heh

might need to load up a mac game like quake 4 and see if it does the same, then you would have something to show them.

camboh
Apr 12, 2009, 07:33 PM
I am under the 1 year warranty until October, but would I have to pay for the visit for them to check it out since my 90 day phone support is over, or is it different taking it into an Apple store? How would they even test it? I tried my Age of Empires III, with all graphics maxed, and seemed to run smooth. But it runs smooth even on a the 9400m integrated. Maybe need to try a more demanding game.

winninganthem
Apr 13, 2009, 04:03 AM
If you are running on battery power, switch the power management to "Balanced". If you are connected to an outlet, switch it to "High Performance".

Sometimes I tell I have it on High Performance but on battery and I have huge slowdowns, so, maybe this can help you.

camboh
May 1, 2009, 02:54 AM
Well I have tried the different settings while using the battery and while connected and no differenece. I just recently took it into the apple genius bar and it tested completely normal, no errors at all. I decided to try a new hard drive and put a 7200 WD Scorpio Black and it didn't help. I notice that everything runs great on the mac side and even most games on windows side, but not Company of Heroes. That game is the only one that these issues have popped up, and also in Call of Duty 2. I just don't get where I am having issues and what with? Both OS run fast and great, but just those games. No problems when i purchased it and played Company or Heroes, then all of the sudden jittery game play. I don't know I have tried everything, guess there is no hope.

camboh
May 1, 2009, 02:56 AM
How well does Quake run on Macbook Pro? And at what settings?


Apple is not going to find anything wrong if you have to be in windows to pla games, they wont boot into windows to check, heh

might need to load up a mac game like quake 4 and see if it does the same, then you would have something to show them.