PDA

View Full Version : iMac G3 OS Install Question




msjulian
Apr 9, 2009, 02:38 PM
I have a slot loading CD ROM in a G3 iMac 350. I am working on installing OS 10.3. My question is can I install the OS with the HD in a different (newer) machine and then just transfer the drive to the iMac? The OS is on DVD and I am looking for ways to get the OS loaded on to the new HD.



GimmeSlack12
Apr 9, 2009, 02:43 PM
Technically that should work. I can't say there won't be any problems, but it's a method I would attempt if all else failed.

OrangeSVTguy
Apr 9, 2009, 05:15 PM
If you have an external DVD drive, you could install it that way. Installing on a newer machine(Must be a PPC Mac) and then transferring the HDD to the iMac G3 should work fine. Just be careful when taking the iMac apart, dangerous high voltage.

Panther Never came on DVD? Was this downloaded? It was Tiger Retail that came on DVD. The Retail Panther came on 3 CDs.