Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Bhennies

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 20, 2004
NYC & Baltimore
Hi everyone. Stupid post follows...

So...I definitely need a new desktop computer soon. I am waiting to buy a new g5 this summer.

However, I also am thinking that I would like to have a laptop as well...purely for portability. Now, because I've survived without one for the past few years, I can't seem to give myself a good enough reason to buy one. What do you all (those that have laptops) count as the most vital reasons you have them (please be specific if possible ie. NOT portability- let me know if you've become attached to having a portable and why). I'm trying to draw up a business plan for myself and need to formulate how a laptop will benefit me directly. BTW, I am a graphic designer (web and print) as well as a musician, but music is primarily going to be done in my studio with the g5 running Pro Tools. Thanks- please give me good enough reason to buy one!

p.s. I think I have powerbook fever due to the updates . :D

PlaceofDis

macrumors Core
Jan 6, 2004
i have a rev. a 12 inch G4 PB, i can say that its unlikely that i will ever get a desktop again. i dont need that sort of power to begin with, but anyways. i like the fact that i have no bulky system on my desk all of the time like a tower and a monitor, its basically an all in one thats portable. i really dont even take my book with me everywhere, but i CAN. if my friends and i are sitting downstairs talking about something and drinkin or whatever and we really want to know something online, i can just run upstairs and grab my book and we can surf for what crazy thing it is... portablility has more applications than you realize...its also the main reason to get a laptop...if you have no use whatsoever for a portable then by all means disregard everything i just said

hope this helps at least a little

iBunny