PDA

View Full Version : my power pc G5 crashes :(




David-fr
Apr 10, 2009, 07:50 PM
Hi all. I have a old power pc G5 2.0 ghz dual with 2gb ram. It runs OS X 10.5.6. is my first mac, am 16 years old and love my mac, i bought for 600 three months ago, since a month or so all of a sudden it crashes for no reason. while using it it just freezes then if i live it for few minutes all the fans start working a making noise. i changed ram, HDD and restore it 3 times. i went to the apple store and they have no idea, if i want them to make a diagnosis the will charge me 85, so before i do that i would like to get some help from this forum. i did research but no one has this exact problem.

Thanks for your help and time to read this.



gr8tfly
Apr 10, 2009, 08:15 PM
Make sure you have the latest firmware update for your model. Depending on which model, from what I can find, it should be either 5.1.4 (http://support.apple.com/downloads/Power_Mac_G5_Firmware_Update_5_1_4) (PowerMac 7,2) or 5.1.8f7 (http://support.apple.com/downloads/Power_Mac_G5__June_2004__Firmware_Update_5_1_8f7) (PowerMac 7,3).

Also, try resetting the PMU. See this article: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1939

David-fr
Apr 10, 2009, 08:32 PM
Make sure you have the latest firmware update for your model. Depending on which model, from what I can find, it should be either 5.1.4 (http://support.apple.com/downloads/Power_Mac_G5_Firmware_Update_5_1_4) (PowerMac 7,2) or 5.1.8f7 (http://support.apple.com/downloads/Power_Mac_G5__June_2004__Firmware_Update_5_1_8f7) (PowerMac 7,3).

Also, try resetting the PMU. See this article: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1939
how can i know what model i have?

raziel777
Apr 10, 2009, 08:36 PM
how can i know what model i have?

Go to the apple at the top menu. Go to about this mac. Will give you hardware overview. Make and model.

gr8tfly
Apr 10, 2009, 08:39 PM
Apple Menu > About This Mac..., then click "More Info". It will launch System Profiler. Under "Hardware Overview", you should find the model.

You should also be able to confirm this by going to Apple Support, Tech Specs (http://support.apple.com/specs/), and enter your serial number (also found in Hardware Overview).

UltraNEO*
Apr 10, 2009, 08:57 PM
Hi all. I have a old power pc G5 2.0 ghz dual with 2gb ram. It runs OS X 10.5.6. is my first mac, am 16 years old and love my mac, i bought for 600 three months ago, since a month or so all of a sudden it crashes for no reason. while using it it just freezes then if i live it for few minutes all the fans start working a making noise. i changed ram, HDD and restore it 3 times. i went to the apple store and they have no idea, if i want them to make a diagnosis the will charge me 85, so before i do that i would like to get some help from this forum. i did research but no one has this exact problem.

Thanks for your help and time to read this.

Some of the older dual 2Ghz G5's had some hardware issues, I'm wondering is your one of them?? Those issues varies from a leaking heatsink to faulty second processor socket both of wchich can cause system failure's and random crashes.

Personally I'm not sure how you'd tell which systems are affected, maybe some avid G5 user would be able to shed some light on this??

David-fr
Apr 10, 2009, 09:02 PM
thanks, all of you. i have reset the PMU and uptade the firmware, i hope all this work couse i cant tell yet. but if i have another crash i will post it. thanks again.

Sun Baked
Apr 10, 2009, 09:12 PM
Yes, some of the G5s would shut down for thermal overages.

Looking at the log helps.

But if you have dirty power, it'll cause you all sorts of pain. So if you have turned something on in the house recently like a fan, or switched to eco-bulbs you might be getting line noise.

David-fr
Apr 10, 2009, 09:25 PM
i belive you are talking about this? mine is Serial Number: 2L42xxxxxx
http://www.apple.com/support/exchange_repair/powermac.html @ ULTRANEO

David-fr
Apr 10, 2009, 10:08 PM
Crash again! I guess I will take it to the apple store and give them my paycheck.

Abidubi
Apr 10, 2009, 10:43 PM
you have a serious hardware problem. Most likely the logic board, 1 or 2 CPUs failed. A freeze with fans running up means the system is locked solid and it doesn't even get temperature sensor info, so it runs the fans at max to cool the system as much as possible.

I had the same issue, after about 1 minute a message to restart displayed in like 20 languages slowly rolled down the screen. Turned out it was a bad processor. Removed it and the system ran on 1 no problem.