Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chris27uk

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 12, 2009
Hi there,

I need a bit of advise on executing applications from a cocoa application written in objective-c.

To put this in context, I am a fairly experienced programmer in my usual field which is java/c/c++/.net. So I have very little experience with developing on the Macintosh platform although I am fairly familliar with the platform. I have had less than 50 hours to get up to scratch with objective-c and so forgive me if my question has misconceptions.

I (think) I need to execute a binary from an application bundle in memory. i.e. I have a set of binary (byte) data which represents an executable and I want to execute this without writing it to disk.

The reason I need to do this, is we have an executable which we do not want the user being able to execute or transfer from the network themselves.

I have had a look at NSTask and this only seems to allow the execution of a binary from disk. Is there any way to execute from memory (i.e. a stream reader or similar)?

If not, could this be achieved by using an encrypted disk image? Can you access the data from an encrypted disk image without mounting the disk image and being transparent to the user?

Any help, pointers or guidance would be very appreciated,
Many Thanks,
Chris.

lee1210

macrumors 68040
Jan 10, 2005
Dallas, TX
exactly how careful do you need to be about the availability of this thing? Are your users technical and known to be malicious, or do you just want to prevent casual access to this binary? Do you have the source for this thing such that it could simply be made a subroutine that you can call within the new program?