PDA

View Full Version : PC133 RAM read as PC100, even though Sys Bus is 133Mhz


LucidX
Apr 21, 2004, 04:12 PM
I just installed a gigabyte of ram in my TiBook 667MHz (from late December '01, top-of-the-line at the time). When I go into system profiler (Panther) and click on memory it says under speed for each Dimm:
PC-100 222S

It said this previously when I had 2 x 256MB Ram (stock). I assumed that Apple had given me PC-100 RAM, even though my bus speed is 133Mhz. I purchased 2 x 512mb Apple-Samsung PC-133 RAM to replace the old memory, but it still says that the ram is running at PC-100 (the sticker on the outside of the new RAM modules says PC133).

Anyone else have this problem, or any advice?

Sweetfeld28
Apr 21, 2004, 05:45 PM
I just installed a gigabyte of ram in my TiBook 667MHz (from late December '01, top-of-the-line at the time). When I go into system profiler (Panther) and click on memory it says under speed for each Dimm:
PC-100 222S

It said this previously when I had 2 x 256MB Ram (stock). I assumed that Apple had given me PC-100 RAM, even though my bus speed is 133Mhz. I purchased 2 x 512mb Apple-Samsung PC-133 RAM to replace the old memory, but it still says that the ram is running at PC-100 (the sticker on the outside of the new RAM modules says PC133).

Anyone else have this problem, or any advice?

Some RAM is backwards compatable. I purchased RAM from OWC which is backwards compatable; I did this so i could use it in my G4, when i decide sell my Beige G3. My RAM sticks are now in my G4 and read as PC100-333s in the System Profiler. . When in fact they are PC133/100.

hvfsl
Apr 21, 2004, 05:57 PM
It is most likely a bug in the system profiler, I dont think it is anything to worry about.

MoparShaha
Apr 21, 2004, 06:43 PM
It is most likely a bug in the system profiler, I dont think it is anything to worry about.Yeah, I think I've heard that SystemProfiler doesn't always report the correct RAM speed.