PDA

View Full Version : Books for beginners in programming

Jens Ulrik
Apr 15, 2009, 03:30 PM
Hello everyone,

I am a beginner in programming, in fact I've never tried it before.
My question is, what books I should invest in?

If the books contain some examples of programming that would be perfect :)

Sander
Apr 16, 2009, 06:33 AM
I think it depends on your previous experience and your "type of learning". Some learn best by example and like something which works, while the understanding can come later; others need to understand everything they type in or they'll become stuck.

Disclaimer: I wrote an introductionary computer programming book myself.

Awesomeness
Apr 16, 2009, 03:41 PM
Books are very helpful. Books are hugely helpful. If you want to start programming, and you want to start easy, I'd suggest you try Python (http://www.python.org/). However, later on you may want to switch over to Java (http://java.sun.com/). Java is a bit harder, but learning it first would definitely help in he long run. Remember, start with books and simple tutorials, don't go big too fast. That's my recommendation. Good luck! :D

LtRammstein
Apr 16, 2009, 05:31 PM
Ugh!

I recommend buy a REFERENCE book. Like most computer science professors will tell you, the book is obsolete when it's published.

Look for tutorials online would be the best for any beginner. Heck, I did that!

djourd
Apr 16, 2009, 05:33 PM
Deitel has very good books for beginning programers. That how I started.

larswik
Apr 16, 2009, 06:01 PM
I started with Objective-C and it was to hard. I ended up learning Python and I got the book 'Python Programing Second Edition' I am half way through the book and it has not been that hard to follow. So far this has been a great book for someone starting out like me.

-Lars

Cromulent
Apr 16, 2009, 06:21 PM
Like most computer science professors will tell you, the book is obsolete when it's published.