PDA

View Full Version : Which popular sites are hosted on OS X Server?




maclover001
Apr 16, 2009, 07:40 PM
As the title says.
Which (well-known) sites are powered by OS X servers?



CANEHDN
Apr 16, 2009, 08:39 PM
I think Apple's site is.

corbywan
Apr 17, 2009, 10:59 AM
What about MacRumors? ;-)

edesignuk
Apr 17, 2009, 10:59 AM
What about MacRumors? ;-)Nope. Linux (I think). Not OS X though, I'm certain of that.

detz
Apr 17, 2009, 11:08 AM
I think Apple's site is.

Haha, they better be...that would be like MS using Linux boxes to host their site. That wouldn't go over too well, if the company doesn't trust their tech how would they expect their customers to.

I don't know of any other sites that use it.

Tosser
Apr 17, 2009, 11:18 AM
Actually, I seem to recall that Apple.com aren't hosted on Macs and something vaguely about Sun perhaps?

IrishSniper87
Apr 17, 2009, 01:32 PM
Most servers use custom variations of Linux.

elppa
Apr 17, 2009, 05:39 PM
When most of Apple's stuff was deployed OS X client wasn't very mature, let alone the server. If stuff is deployed and stable and working, then it tends to get left that way.

For Apple's developer site, they send back this:
Server:Apache/2.2.9 (Unix) PHP/5.2.6 mod_ssl/2.2.9 OpenSSL/0.9.7l mod_jk/1.2.25 mod_perl/2.0.2 Perl/v5.8.8
So they use php on the backend for the developer site and WebObjects (Java) for their store and other areas.

For their homepage and other areas, they just send back this:
Server:Apache/2.2.9 (Unix)
The Apache could be running on any UNIX like system.

CUPS (http://www.cups.org/) is hosted on Red Hat:
Server:Apache/2.2.3 (Red Hat)

All the other Apple sites (Webkit, Mac Ruby, Mac OS Forge) send this back:
Server:Apache/2.2.11 (Unix) mod_ssl/2.2.11 OpenSSL/0.9.8k DAV/2 mod_python/3.3.1 Python/2.5.4

I've read the use a combination on Sun Servers and XServes for MobileMe.

The whitehouse.gov sends back this:
Server:Microsoft-IIS/6.0
So you know they're on Windows Server.

Tosser
Apr 17, 2009, 05:41 PM
The whitehouse.gov sends back this:

So you know they're on Windows Server.

... and on to you!





:p

gpzere
Apr 29, 2009, 08:19 AM
Haha, they better be...that would be like MS using Linux boxes to host their site. That wouldn't go over too well, if the company doesn't trust their tech how would they expect their customers to.

Well actually, Microsoft uses the Akamai CDN to balance their content load on certain high traffic sections of their site; and Akamai's servers run on linux. So technically Microsoft does use linux indirectly.