PDA

View Full Version : High Scores

danmwall
Apr 23, 2009, 03:56 PM
I'm struggling trying to figure out how to store a list of high scores. I was planning on putting them in an NSMutableArray and sorting them. Sounded easy enough. I'm new to all of this, so I have only ever used NSMutableArrays with one value per instance. Now, for each instance I want to store a Name (NSString) and a Score (int). I have searched around and it looks like I may need to use an NSMutableDictionary?? I looked at the sample code in PeriodicElements, but it just confused me.

Does anyone have any sample code where you're using an NSMutableArray or NSMutableDictionary to store high scores?

mccannmarc
Apr 23, 2009, 04:37 PM
Very very basic example but something like the following would do it

// create a mutable dictionary with capacity of 2 (this is just the initial value, NSMutableDictionaries resize when needed anyway)
NSMutableDictionary * dict = [NSMutableDictionary dictionaryWithCapacity:2];

// create the mutable arrays - score1,2 & 3 for example would be NSNumbers and name1,2 & 3 would be NSStrings
NSMutableArray * playerScores = [NSMutableArray arrayWithObjects:score1, score2, score3, nil];
NSMutableArray * playerNames = [NSMutableArray arrayWithObjects:name1, name2, name3, nil];

// add the arrays to the dictionary, (the key always has to be a string)
[dict setObject:playerScores forKey:@"usr_scores"];
[dict setObject:playerNames forKey:@"usr_playernames"];

Just in case you didn't know, all of these objects will be flagged for autorelease. If you need to hold on to them and access them beyond the method they are in you will need to alloc and init them and retain and release when necessary as well as make them class members rather than local variables

mpatric
Apr 24, 2009, 10:03 AM
Very very basic example but something like the following would do it