PDA

View Full Version : Moving my iTunes and iPod from PC to mac




Sir Loin Steak
Apr 25, 2009, 02:52 AM
Hmm, I searched the forums and thought that 'all' I had to do to run my iPod on this new iMac was to deauthorise the old pc and authorise this mac.

I have done that, but I am still getting the message from iTunes to sync and erase the ipod! It took me days to put all my music on it, and can't face that again!

What am I doing wrong/missing?



miles01110
Apr 25, 2009, 03:39 AM
You still have to move all your music to the iMac, either using an external drive or a program like Senuti or PodView to transfer from the iPod to the iMac.

Sir Loin Steak
Apr 25, 2009, 03:59 AM
I have moved the files over on an external drive.

But the files, or the majority of them, are in wma format, and I don't think the iPod/iTunes can read them.

I'm now using a prog called 'Switch' to convert them, but there's over 5000 of them to d, and it's slow.

JCastro
Apr 26, 2009, 12:03 AM
There is no way around it. You are going to have to convert the files from wma to an iTunes compatible file. Then your iPod will be erased and re-loaded with the new files for two reasons.

1. Is you are going to have to re-load the "new" files.

2. Your iPod will have to be reformatted for the Mac. I just went through this when I converted. I have over 10,200 songs in iTunes. :eek:

It may be a pain now but it will be worth it in the end.

Sir Loin Steak
Apr 26, 2009, 12:53 AM
Understood. It's been running for nearly 24 hours, now, and not even a third of the way through. :(
:apple::D

Sir Loin Steak
Apr 26, 2009, 11:03 AM
Something that is slowing me up is a warning message that Switch throws up now and again:

Switch File Converter wants to overwrite... etc etc.

In windows, if such a message came up, you could select something like, 'overwrite all', or whatever. In Switch it only gives the option to say either 'No', or 'Yes' and it also says that I can change the options in Switch.

The trouble is that if I stop Switch to make an alteration to the options, will this put me back to square one?

Hopefully not, because I suppose that the files have been converted, and that's that.

Am I right?

SnowLeopard2008
Apr 26, 2009, 02:15 PM
Why not use something like Handbrake? Just convert all of them on the queue, and have it output to a folder (organize).

Sir Loin Steak
Apr 26, 2009, 02:42 PM
I am typing this from the afterlife, as I had to kill myself seven times on account of making a mess of things.

I decided to cancel the operation, in the faith that all the changes made until then had taken place.

In that, I was correct - but that was after I had deleted certain files, in desperation, from both the iPod and iTunes.

So I have reformatted the iPod and have started putting my 160 cds onto the iMac.

Like I said...

Still, nothing will dampen my enthusiasm for the mac, and I wear my Windows-user badge of nigh on 20 years with some pride, all the same, but this is no going back territory!

Loads to learn, yes, but it's a great trip. :apple:

watkins11
Apr 30, 2009, 04:34 PM
I'm looking for perhaps an older version of iPodAccess(before the current 4.2.4) or an alternate application perhaps, that allows you to transfer more than 5 songs at a time. Does anyone know of any or how to maybe sidestep this problem. I have too many songs to import off my iPod and doing so 5 x 5 x 5 etc... is going to be exhausting! Please help me if you know!

Thanks,
Taylor