View Full Version : What apple discount is this ?
zer0army
Feb 7, 2003, 12:57 AM
Maybe this is just a scam like many others on ebay, i dont know but...
what apple discount this is. The guy claims 20% off, better then student or education discount. and at least 6 people he sold this info to say it works.
http://cgi.ebay.ca/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=3400527852&category=14909
springscansing
Feb 7, 2003, 01:06 AM
I think its the student developer discount. It's a $99 yearly membership fee, and you get a heavy discount on computers... only like once though, heh.
zer0army
Feb 7, 2003, 01:15 AM
so you have to pay a fee to get the discount.....in which case once you pay it then you probably wont be saving much more the the regular student discount.....I knew there was a catch
bentmywookie
Feb 7, 2003, 01:34 AM
On the "i" line the discount is ok (if you are a student, you will usually at least save the $99 you paid and probably a little more), but man, on the "power" line, it is totally worth it. I remember when the superdrive Ti came out, the top of the line was $3000 and Apple was offering the double your ram for free upgrade - I configured a 1 ghz superdrive Ti with 1 gig of ram that was $2300 at the developer store. Totally awesome.
I think for non-students, you can pay $600 to join the developer connection and get the discounts too, and I think that you can use it more than once (I'm not totally positive though).
zer0army
Feb 7, 2003, 01:39 AM
WOW...thats sounds good since im looking to get somthing in the "power" line......
bentmywookie .....do you have any links where i can find more info about this ?
Choppaface
Feb 7, 2003, 01:40 AM
what about those other auctions (by a similar guy, perhaps?) that have 'information' for free cameras and such...?
I think I saw one for a free ipod....
springscansing
Feb 7, 2003, 01:54 AM
Originally posted by Choppaface
what about those other auctions (by a similar guy, perhaps?) that have 'information' for free cameras and such...?
I think I saw one for a free ipod....
They require you to open a "business" and request free product samples. It's lame.
teabgs
Feb 7, 2003, 06:39 AM
http://developer.apple.com/membership/descriptions.html that is the info on the programs.....and here the developer purchase program depends on what counry your in...
http://developer.apple.com/membership/hardware.html
follow the instructions....you dont have to sign up to look at the prices ;)
vBulletin® v3.8.6, Copyright ©2000-2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.