PDA

View Full Version : Dual 2Ghz Power Mac G5 2-pack




pfjr83
Jan 13, 2004, 10:20 AM
Hey there.I've got 2 Power Mac G5 Dual 2Ghz models new in the boxes for sale.I'm selling them as a 2-pack.I'm willing to part with them for $3200 shipped, for both.Let me know if you'd like to buy them by mailing me here: pfjr83@yahoo.com If so, payment must be sent overnight.Money orders, that is.Let me know...These are current, default configurations.

...PfJr...



RndmAxess
Jan 13, 2004, 10:42 AM
Where are you located?

Is this available to be picked up in person?

Who are you?

And why overnight money orders?

This smells like a scam:

1) this user's first post
2) too good 2b true G5 for sale
3) money order
4) send M.O. overnight

RndmAxess
Jan 13, 2004, 10:43 AM
Oops, sent post twice.

So how about it. Step up to the plate and let us know your legit.

edesignuk
Jan 13, 2004, 10:49 AM
To good to be true = isn't true

Sorry mate, but it does sound like a scam, and this being your one and only post doesn't help matters.

pfjr83
Jan 13, 2004, 10:55 AM
What's wrong with a first post?Why would i be scamming you?I live in Bridgeport, CT.The reason for the overnight money orders is as simple as when i want something i've got to have it now.The reason for the low price is to have them sold quicker.You can come to my house and get them.

edesignuk
Jan 13, 2004, 11:01 AM
Originally posted by pfjr83
What's wrong with a first post?Because no one knows you around here. No one knows what you're like.
Why would i be scamming you?Why does anyone scam anyone? Who knows, but they do!

edit: oh yeah, and, $3200 for 2 BRAND NEW systems worth $3000 each, call me skeptical, but it just cannot be lagit.

pfjr83
Jan 13, 2004, 11:07 AM
Why would i scam with my real address and information.I just don't get it.The guy up there asked who am i.I'm a regular fellow just like you with a house, parents, a dog and a telephone.As you may have already guessed I wouldn't jeopardize all these things and go to jail for fraud just because i don't want to.I know i have the choice though.lol.

edesignuk
Jan 13, 2004, 11:10 AM
Originally posted by pfjr83
Why would i scam with my real address and information.
What "real address and information"? Your e-mail address? ...please...:rolleyes:

RndmAxess
Jan 13, 2004, 11:18 AM
Originally posted by pfjr83
Why would i scam with my real address and information.I just don't get it.The guy up there asked who am i.I'm a regular fellow just like you with a house, parents, a dog and a telephone.As you may have already guessed I wouldn't jeopardize all these things and go to jail for fraud just because i don't want to.I know i have the choice though.lol.

Hey it's buyer beware... your post has big red flags flying.

1) Vague/non-existant seller info.
2) Latest unopened G5 (wow.. two!!).
3) Urgency. Buyer must send payment overnight.
4) User profile directs to a generic webhost main page, with only a handful of hits.

Hey you might be legit. These are all valid concerns of a buyer. Welcome to the world of commerce. If you can't handle the feedback.. well that's up to you what to do.

pfjr83
Jan 13, 2004, 11:24 AM
The info the e-mail is registered to.If you want, i can also disclose my AOL e-mail. It's NetGuy1115@aol.com Now let me think.If you were to send me the money and 3 days were to go by and you didn't get your G5s, wouldn't you rush to call AOL, express the situation, get my address and call the FBI?I thought so.Now we're crackalackin.It's as simple as send the money, i ship the items, i end you your tracking number and you wait for shipment.If not, let someone else score on this good deal.It's up to you.

pfjr83
Jan 13, 2004, 11:28 AM
Of course, i'm all on your side, dimwit!lol!

Macpoops
Jan 13, 2004, 11:34 AM
wouldn't it be a bit easier to send you a Check instead of a money order? That way the Buyer would have a bit more control of the situation? oh wait thats one of the biggest red flags

hug69
Jan 13, 2004, 02:12 PM
hey guy, be carefull with this guy, didn't he say you could come to his house to pick up the computer if you don't believe ?
well i live in new york and he is in Bridgeport , Connecticut, that just one hour drive from me.
I told him i can come now with the cash and buy both computers.

his response: his parent does not allow people to come to the house ! ! ? ?

so i told that fine with me but i can meet him somewhere in the city such as Macdonald etc...

i never got a reply so you BE ADVISED.

more over, he begged me not to send his reply email to the forum, well that is just
exactly what i am going to do now.
you decide for yourself.

below is our email transactions:

this is his reply
-------------------
You must be the guy from the forums.I'm sorry and to you this may seem like a lie but we're not accepting any visitors at this time.My family from Puerto Rico is down and we don't want anyone to disrupt us.My uncle is being kind enough to take me to ship these at UPS and i just don't feel comfortable with someone coming over right now.All my real info is online.How would i accept money from you if i can't be there to accept and sign for it at my real address?Wouldn't you report me if anything?That's what i didn't get but it's alright.Also, you scared e a little and made me want to raise the price but i'm not going to.Oh yeah, and don't put this e-mail in the forum!lol.The choice is yours.Buy it and wait for it to get shipped or let someone else get the good deal.

This is a message from hug69 at Mac Forums ( http://forums.macrumors.com/index.php ). The Mac Forums owners cannot accept any responsibility for the contents of the email.
To email hug69, you can use this online form:
http://forums.macrumors.com/member.php?action=mailform&userid=20582
OR, by email:
mailto:mhugues46@hotmail.com
This is the message:

my inquiry
--------------
HEY, YOU LIVE IN BRIDGEPORT ?
I LIVE IN NEW YORK.
YOU ARE JUST ONE HOUR FROM ME
I CAN COME TO YOU TO BUY BOTH MACHINE,
LET ME KNOW.

edesignuk
Jan 13, 2004, 02:15 PM
That's good enough for me, someone (mods) please ban pfjr83 ASAP! :mad:

JDRasta
Jan 13, 2004, 02:30 PM
lol, u just got pwned man, and that is funny...

Dont Hurt Me
Jan 13, 2004, 02:37 PM
so this clown(scamer also newbie ) can sell a new dual G5 for $1500??doesnt that sound a little strange? probably doesnt even know a mac if he saw one or had one for that matter.

jxyama
Jan 13, 2004, 02:38 PM
is there any way to get more info on this guy? anyone using AOL on the forum?

this guy should not only be banned but if possible, his family should be contacted to let them know that their kid is advertising the sale of $6000 worth of computers for $3000... let his family be the judge as to what's going on... (stolen items? complete scam?)

edesignuk
Jan 13, 2004, 02:40 PM
Originally posted by jxyama
his family should be contacted to let them know that their kid is advertising the sale of $6000 worth of computers for $3000... let his family be the judge as to what's going on... (stolen items? complete scam?)
How do you know it's a kid, it could be anyone, anywhere.

His/hers IP will have been recorded by the forum software ;)

jxyama
Jan 13, 2004, 02:48 PM
perhaps he's not a "kid"... his birthday is 1983. as a little bit older person, anyone born in the 80s is a "kid" to me. :D

i hope this guy gets nailed somehow...

edesignuk
Jan 13, 2004, 02:52 PM
Originally posted by jxyama
perhaps he's not a "kid"... his birthday is 1983.
So they say, but how are you to know what's fact and fiction with this ****ing tit.

QCassidy352
Jan 13, 2004, 03:38 PM
well done hug.

Mudbug
Jan 13, 2004, 03:56 PM
I think ebay exists for this very type of thing, no?

Sounds like crap to me, but what do I know. I'm only a thoroughly informed mac consumer who frequents boards full of mac-relevant posts about everything from 10-year-old software problems to up-to-the-minute news information about products and pricing.

Probably just me. I've been wrong before :rolleyes: