PDA

View Full Version : eBay Hoax?




7on
Jun 16, 2004, 04:18 PM
Ok so I got this email from billing@ebay.com with the subject "Verify Your eBay Account." Normally I'd think nothing of it and click the link and fill it out but the link gave me a 404 error. http://www.eBay.com/verification/%?6488820019 I instantly knew it was a hoax and trashed it. A few minutes later I got the same email only with the same link (but this time it works). It redirects me to http://secure-ebay.info.ivchost5.com/. The ivchost5 is a little suspicious, but even more suspicious is that the page says it's secure yet Safari doesn't show the lock in the upper right hand browser window. Another thing that seals the deal is an error that tells me to check the activity window. In the Activity Window there is the following "broken" link:
file:///C|/Documents%20and%20Settings/tez/Desktop/eBay_files/multi_submit.js
That pretty much told me it was a hoax, but if it hadn't been for the first email with the bad link I wouldn't have noticed. And if it's not a hoax, the people at eBay are shoddy HTMLers ;P



monkeydo_jb
Jun 16, 2004, 04:47 PM
Good eye and thanks for the 'heads-up'.

I'd probably make ebay aware of this.





-jeff

Mike Teezie
Jun 16, 2004, 04:51 PM
That's a scheme, beware!!

Same scheme almost got me about six weeks ago.

They are getting very crafty!

rainman::|:|
Jun 16, 2004, 05:15 PM
"phishing" has been around as a serious problem for about a year now, eBay, Citibank and Paypal are the most common targets. Several threads on this. As goes without saying, if they want personal info, type the address yourself-- don't use email hotlinks.

Many of the phishing scams now misspell words to foil spam filters that have been set to catch them-- so they're quite obvious.

paul

Doctor Q
Jun 16, 2004, 05:28 PM
The ivchost5 is a little suspicious, but even more suspicious is that the page says it's secure yet Safari doesn't show the lock in the upper right hand browser window.Each clue can be enough to tip you off, but phishers (the name for this type of scammers) can make secure sites, forge From addresses, learn to speak gramatically (often another tip-off), and fool a lot more people. The real tip-off is that eBay Billing (and amazon.com, and your bank, and other major companies) do not send you e-mail asking you to re-enter your biling information. Knowing that is your best protection.

absolut_mac
Jun 16, 2004, 05:34 PM
Ok so I got this email from billing@ebay.com with the subject "Verify Your eBay Account."

As a long time member of Ebay I often get emails from them reminding me that they will NOT email me asking me to verify my info - password, bank account etc.

Caveat emptor!!!

themadchemist
Jun 16, 2004, 06:15 PM
Looks like someone went down to the river and was lookin' to real in something. Thanks for spotting this phishing and making us aware of it. Smart of you not to fall for it; many others would have.

As some others have stated, I would suggest contacting eBay and making it aware of this problem. Hopefully, other users have already done so, but another complaint/heads-up certainly couldn't hurt.