PDA

View Full Version : *********.com




Tyler.Schmaltz
Sep 7, 2004, 10:31 PM
anybody here use *********.com or is it just a scam or does it really work just want to knwo cause im thinking of trying it and just wanted to knwo what you think about it



Doctor Q
Sep 7, 2004, 10:57 PM
It's a pyramid scheme and quite a problem for our site, because of the number of people who think they can use MacRumors to get others to sign up.

mr_mac
Sep 7, 2004, 11:26 PM
Wow... you really beleive this?

ok, good for you... be scammed...

Everything free is a catch...

vraxtus
Sep 7, 2004, 11:28 PM
It's a pyramid scheme and quite a problem for our site, because of the number of people who think they can use MacRumors to get others to sign up.

Didn't Wired publish an article about them that they actually weren't scamming? I thought I read that a month or so ago...

Elan0204
Sep 7, 2004, 11:28 PM
Although, Wired did write an article about the site, and they seemed pretty convinced of its legitamacy. There are also sites all over the web that show pictures of people who have gotten free ipods, including screenshots of their order status being updated. So if this is a pyramid scheme, it seems that the people at the top are actually starting to get their iPods.

That being said, *********.com is taking over the Internet. Every site I visit is being flooded with referral links, and it is very annoying. As Doctor Q said, it has been quite a problem here on MacRumors too, but at least the mods (Doctor Q included) are very quick to get rid of any spam. Thank you mods! I know the free iPod people make your life harder.

acidrock
Sep 7, 2004, 11:39 PM
I was actually going to make a post I just found out about topfreegifts.com, from macruomrs, they are giving away things that are a little to good to be true. I beleive the old saying is nothing in life really comes for free, maybe unless is from apple directely j/k (the iTunes contest) -n

michaelrjohnson
Sep 7, 2004, 11:59 PM
during the height of the *********.com spamming, i started virtually the same thread as this... though, mine got deleted... cherish this thread ;) :D

Whether or not some people actually got free iPods, it doesn't change the fact that pyramid-style marketing schemes are illegal. The interesting thing is that usually, the pyramid only gets so large before "support" or enthusiasm peters out. However, the demand for the iPod seems to be keeping the dream alive for many still. From a purely statistical perspective, this could only go on for a very short time. These schemes produce exponential numbers of "winners" and that number can mushroom very quickly to numbers that far surpass the actual production numbers for the iPod itself. Food for thought.

Doctor Q
Sep 8, 2004, 12:09 AM
during the height of the *********.com spamming, i started virtually the same thread as this... though, mine got deleted... cherish this threadI was looking for that thread just now, so I could link to it, but couldn't spot it. So you've explained why I didn't find it. If a thread about the site encourages people to visit it, then it's a bad idea to have such a thread here, but maybe it's worth explaining the details again because it is a topic of interest to many and it's better to fight it with logic and explanations than with FUD. Of course, if FUD is more effective, I'll go for that!

ocellnuri
Sep 8, 2004, 12:19 AM
I don't think it's illegal.. and it seems to not totally be a scam. But for sure, it's too late to jump on the bandwagon.

michaelrjohnson
Sep 8, 2004, 12:29 AM
I was looking for that thread just now, so I could link to it, but couldn't spot it. So you've explained why I didn't find it. If a thread about the site encourages people to visit it, then it's a bad idea to have such a thread here, but maybe it's worth explaining the details again because it is a topic of interest to many and it's better to fight it with logic and explanations than with FUD. Of course, if FUD is more effective, I'll go for that!

I should have quoted Elan0204's post. It was what I was referring to... I started a thread the same as his post. :) Looks like I wasn't paying close enough attention when typing my last post. ;)

acouch21
Sep 17, 2004, 01:18 AM
So here's the deal everyone:

My name is Aaron Couch and I've just signed up on *********.com and I need 5 referrals! I know you don't all want to waste your time with this, so I am offering $5 to everyone who completes a referral!! Just send me an e-mail at acouch21@mailblocks.com with your e-mail address and I PROMISE that I'll send you $5 via PayPal (as long as you have a PayPal account that is.)

So agian I PROMISE $5 to the first 5 people who do this for me! (Just sign up for the ancestry.com offer, and cancel immediately and you won't be charged; I did it and it worked fine!)

My referral link is: http://www.spam.com

I'M COMPLETELY SERIOUS!

Thanks!!

sorryiwasdreami
Sep 17, 2004, 01:22 AM
Uh-oh. I smell the wasteland.

mikeyredk
Sep 17, 2004, 04:02 AM
just a quick question

is it okay for me to put my referral like in my signature?

Mudbug
Sep 17, 2004, 07:45 AM
just a quick question

is it okay for me to put my referral like in my signature?
No.