PDA

View Full Version : New Xserve Cluster Node, as a Standalone server.




Mars478
Apr 30, 2009, 04:26 PM
Hi Everyone!
As the IT person at my school, I've purchased an Xserve Cluster Node DP G5 2.0 GHZ. 1GB of Ram, and an 80GB ADM (I Separately purchased a 500 GB ADM because I have an extra drive sled from our current Xserve G5 regular. for 40 $) for 369$ with free shipping! It is going to replace the current Mac Mini G4 we are using for Moodle (which is going to be the Servers Primary Use). The Cluster node does not come with a video card, but I have been told that the ATI Rage 128 from a B/W G3 will work, And I have removed that card from the G3 already. Will this Work?
Also for the CD Drive what do you recommend, The server comes with OS X 10.4 Server, but we have received an Evaluation copy of 10.5 Server which expires June 30 which is just out of the School year (Ends June 6) So I want to install that. I can Burn the image of the disc from another mac (there is many I can use, including another Xserve G5) to the ADM by making a small partition for the Install and installing it onto the Hard Drive?
Thanks!



dcbarry
May 26, 2009, 11:00 AM
Hi.... I was wondering how your setup went, if you were able to proceed. I have an opportunity to purchase a G5 cluster node very cheap, which I would like to use to experiment with 10.5 server. I understand there are obsticals (no drive and video). I think I read I can use an external firewire CD-ROM drive (which I have --- glad I never sold it off.) From what I read it should be posssible to do this all remotely even w/o a video card, but if I can get a cheap one that works, great.


One question ..... how noisy is this setup? I will park it in the garage, but if it sounds like a jet engine (super whiny), that might be a deal breaker anyway -- wont pass the wife test.

Thanks!

d.

Mars478
May 27, 2009, 07:10 AM
Hey! I completed the setup successfully, I used a video card from a Blue and White G3, which works like a champ (albeit a bit slowly but its a server ;)), I used a G4 Mac mini to install OS 10.5 by putting the Cluster node into Target disk mode, and I installed it from there, it is important that if you do my method you use a PowerPC Mac, if you use intel it will not boot. A firewire CD-Rom should work fine if it reads DVDs. We have another Xserve (Regular) Thats much louder than the Cluster Node I purchased, Even though the cluster node has 1 more processor. I say go for it
I Attached a sound of the machine running, and this is VERY close up. We have the Xserves behind a desk with a small fan running. Good luck.
Hope it passes the Wife test :)

papertigers
Jun 20, 2009, 04:30 PM
So everything worked and you installed from target disk mode? If I dont have a ppc mac to install from I can use a usb/firewire cdrom drive? I am curious because I am watching one on ebay and I may pick it up. I could just remote into it and manage it that way.

lozion
Oct 15, 2009, 07:45 PM
Hi, can you run an Apple Xserve G5/2.3 DP Cluster Node as a desktop computer? Do I just need to add a pci gfx card and thats it?
Thanks,

Consultant
Oct 15, 2009, 08:26 PM
Hi, can you run an Apple Xserve G5/2.3 DP Cluster Node as a desktop computer? Do I just need to add a pci gfx card and thats it?
Thanks,

Servers have extra cooling, thus are VERY LOUD. You probably don't want to use it for a desktop.

calderone
Oct 15, 2009, 08:34 PM
Servers have extra cooling, thus are VERY LOUD. You probably don't want to use it for a desktop.

I was going to say this too. A few months ago I found an older DP Xserve about 40 miles away. I picked up, got it home, turned it on and within about 20 minutes I knew it had to go.

Luckily I got a good deal, I put it up on eBay and made my money back plus a few hundred.

Point is, these things are loud. Very very loud. I looked into quieting it, but that didn't seem feasible or ideal. I would not recommend it as a desktop, unless you have it stored in a sound proof room/closet/housing/etc.

lozion
Oct 15, 2009, 10:39 PM
Servers have extra cooling, thus are VERY LOUD. You probably don't want to use it for a desktop.

Yes, I see your point, but my question is what is needed to technically use a NODE as desktop?

calderone
Oct 16, 2009, 12:14 AM
Yes, I see your point, but my question is what is needed to technically use a NODE as desktop?

If you add graphics, I don't see why not.

lozion
Oct 16, 2009, 12:19 AM
If you add graphics, I don't see why not.

Right. As for the noise, why not shut down a few fans in there to reduce the noise and turn off the server when not in use to limit heat. I've done it on a DP G5 that was insanely loud and after killing both HDD fans it went silent with only the CPU fans running smoothly...

Chundles
Oct 16, 2009, 12:19 AM
Yes, I see your point, but my question is what is needed to technically use a NODE as desktop?

1. Earplugs
2. More earplugs
3. A reeeeeally big desktop
4. Good air conditioning
5. You know what, may as well get some more earplugs.

calderone
Oct 16, 2009, 12:45 AM
Right. As for the noise, why not shut down a few fans in there to reduce the noise and turn off the server when not in use to limit heat. I've done it on a DP G5 that was insanely loud and after killing both HDD fans it went silent with only the CPU fans running smoothly...

The heat increased dramatically when I disabled the HDD fans in the G5 I bought. And it was still far too loud. Not to mention the thing is huge.

While having an Xserve is cool, I think modern Mini's beat them out in speed, so I opted to make one those my server.

Good luck though. They are fun to play with.

lozion
Oct 16, 2009, 01:07 AM
The heat increased dramatically when I disabled the HDD fans in the G5 I bought. And it was still far too loud.

Do you mean the fans of an Xserve G5? If yes then you're prolly right, too loud. I could get one for 300$ with 8G ram cheap though so it makes you think twice...

calderone
Oct 16, 2009, 01:28 AM
Do you mean the fans of an Xserve G5? If yes then you're prolly right, too loud. I could get one for 300$ with 8G ram cheap though so it makes you think twice...

There are a number of reasons I let mine go:

1. Very loud
2. Too big
3. Very hot, even with all the fans running this thing was super hot.
4. Expensive proprietary drives bay modules.
5. Too slow compared to current hardware


Sure they are cheap, that drew me in as well. But I got it home and the novelty wore off fast. It simply isn't practical for a home solution. The only thing I wish I had on the Mini was dual NICs.

lozion
Oct 16, 2009, 02:24 AM
Ok, txs for your input.
There are a number of reasons I let mine go:

1. Very loud
2. Too big
3. Very hot, even with all the fans running this thing was super hot.
4. Expensive proprietary drives bay modules.
5. Too slow compared to current hardware


Sure they are cheap, that drew me in as well. But I got it home and the novelty wore off fast. It simply isn't practical for a home solution. The only thing I wish I had on the Mini was dual NICs.

crtvmac
Dec 2, 2009, 05:14 PM
Hi Everyone!
As the IT person at my school, I've purchased an Xserve Cluster Node DP G5 2.0 GHZ. 1GB of Ram, and an 80GB ADM (I Separately purchased a 500 GB ADM because I have an extra drive sled from our current Xserve G5 regular. for 40 $) for 369$ with free shipping! It is going to replace the current Mac Mini G4 we are using for Moodle (which is going to be the Servers Primary Use). The Cluster node does not come with a video card, but I have been told that the ATI Rage 128 from a B/W G3 will work, And I have removed that card from the G3 already. Will this Work?
Also for the CD Drive what do you recommend, The server comes with OS X 10.4 Server, but we have received an Evaluation copy of 10.5 Server which expires June 30 which is just out of the School year (Ends June 6) So I want to install that. I can Burn the image of the disc from another mac (there is many I can use, including another Xserve G5) to the ADM by making a small partition for the Install and installing it onto the Hard Drive?
Thanks!

What is the purpose of a Cluster Node? Do I need one to host a website with ecommerce, video hosting such as Youtude, and up loading of images to website, which will be available 24/7 to clients? I have a Xserve and will be buying an Apple RAID in the future.