PDA

View Full Version : Set up mac to access internet through windows vista pc




nicolanicola
May 1, 2009, 09:42 AM
I'm lost, how do I do this?

I have 3 mobile internet modem plugged into my pc. I have a wireless router that both my mac and my laptop are connected to. I want to be able to use the pc's net access on my mac.

I have been searching for guides but the steps show options that aren't available on my os for some reason (10.5.6) such enabling windows sharing within the sharing screen on mac, that service isn't listed.

Thanks in advance.



plinden
May 1, 2009, 09:45 AM
If I'm reading your post correctly, this is all you need - http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/help/bfd3bd31-82f0-4b9c-9cde-fb92bc2b14771033.mspx

You don't need to configure anything on the Mac.

I found ICS a bag of hurt when I tried it, but that was some years ago with XP.

Why do you want to share your PC's connection if you have a router already?

nicolanicola
May 1, 2009, 09:51 AM
If I'm reading your post correctly, this is all you need - http://windowshelp.microsoft.com/Windows/en-US/help/bfd3bd31-82f0-4b9c-9cde-fb92bc2b14771033.mspx

You don't need to configure anything on the Mac.

I found ICS a bag of hurt when I tried it, but that was some years ago with XP.

Why do you want to share your PC's connection if you have a router already?

Thanks I'll try that. Because my router isn't on the net yet via my home phone line. I've just moved house and amn't getting broadband until wednesday so someone lent me a mobile modem until then. I can't get it to work on my mac though so I am having to share it.

nicolanicola
May 1, 2009, 09:54 AM
The problem with the info in that link is that it is assuming it's 2 pcs that are being connected. The things it says to do for the client computer aren't translatable into mac terms!!

Consultant
May 1, 2009, 10:11 AM
You should do it via the Mac. Much easier and more stable.

nicolanicola
May 1, 2009, 10:27 AM
You should do it via the Mac. Much easier and more stable.

How would I do that? Do you mean plug the modem into the mac?

Consultant
May 1, 2009, 10:39 AM
Or go to a cafe with free wifi.

Wireless modems are hard to share, by the way.

plinden
May 1, 2009, 10:59 AM
The problem with the info in that link is that it is assuming it's 2 pcs that are being connected. The things it says to do for the client computer aren't translatable into mac terms!!

You should be able to just plug the Mac into the PC's ethernet port once you have the PC set up. That's how it works when sharing a Mac's internet connection - it should already be set up on the client.

However, like I said earlier, I haven't done this for some time. When I was PC-only I tried to do this to save on buying a router, and couldn't even get two PCs to connect reliably. But that was five or six years ago and despite what we say, Windows has improved in that time.