PDA

View Full Version : is my ipod dead?




shaktimage
May 2, 2009, 10:43 PM
i have a 20Gb 3rd gen. ipod that i was using with my window pc (so it was formatted FAT). Now i have a macbookpro and the ipod wouldn't sync. neither restore to factory setting. So i reformated it (mac OS extended journaled) with macbookpro disc utility. Now it wont turn on, if i plug it to the mac i can see an apple on the ipod screen, but it is not recognized by the laptop... out! Should i find a window pc and reformat it FAT? THANKS>>



dvdhsu
May 2, 2009, 10:52 PM
i have a 20Gb 3rd gen. ipod that i was using with my window pc (so it was formatted FAT). Now i have a macbookpro and the ipod wouldn't sync. neither restore to factory setting. So i reformated it (mac OS extended journaled) with macbookpro disc utility. Now it wont turn on, if i plug it to the mac i can see an apple on the ipod screen, but it is not recognized by the laptop... out! Should i find a window pc and reformat it FAT? THANKS>>
Try restoring it on your PC, then do it on your Mac again.
Not sure if this would work, but you could try taking it into the Apple store. They should be able to help you restore it even if it is out of AppleCare.

shaktimage
May 4, 2009, 03:08 AM
didn't work... I guess the big mistake was to use Disc Utility from my MacBookPro to try to reformat the ipod. Maybe a special apple application could restore it? or the apple care center...

bobnugget
May 4, 2009, 05:07 AM
didn't work... I guess the big mistake was to use Disc Utility from my MacBookPro to try to reformat the ipod. Maybe a special apple application could restore it? or the apple care center...

Sounds like you wiped the iPod system partition when you erased it. You should try to download one of the relevant iPod software updates from Apple, this should fix it and put the software back on (You can get them for mac and PC). If i remember correctly, make sure you have a charger, as it will not restore the software unless the iPod is plugged in to the mains after you have run the update on your mac/PC.

If the mac isn't recognising it, before plugging it in, try resetting the iPod (instructions for doing this are on the apple website - I can't remember how to do it for your model off hand).

Consultant
May 4, 2009, 10:47 AM
google:
restore ipod