Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ts1973

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Nov 11, 2002
Belgium
I am on the lookout for an apple notebook, and have been reading through the forums, but I still can't decide...

- 12" ibook 1Ghz with 60Gb HD and AE
- 14" ibook 1.2Ghz with 60Gb HD and AE
- 12" PB 1.33Ghz with 60Gb HD and AE (and BT)

I work as an architect, but the notebook is not really intended as a drawing board (but I do sometimes need to show some stuff to customers on the road). Primary use will be word/excel and the internet.
I am especially curious about the screen size of the 12" ers... I know you can always hook up an external monitor @ home but still... Is 12" enough ? Furthermore : would you go for the faster 14" ibook (and the bigger screen) or spend the extra $$ for the PB range ? I have the feeling that, since the PB G5 is still some time away, the G5 ibook is for now nowhere to be seen. So an ibook looks like the best bang for $ ??

Any thoughts are welcome.

Chip NoVaMac

macrumors G3
Dec 25, 2003
Northern Virginia
I have the PB 12" rev. B and love it. I thought that the 12" screen might be too small. But It really hasn't been an issue. Like someone told me when I started looking, the original Mac had a 9" screen.

As to the iBook vs. the PB. The PB officially supports spanning of the monitors. If you are doing a BTO system, I would suggest getting the BT on the iBook. Also the Superdrive option on the 14" iBook or 12' PB is nice to have. Great for backups.

Frisco

macrumors 68020
Sep 24, 2002
Utopia
If money is not that critical in your decision the 15" PB would be perfect for you, although the iBooks are great computers too. One of my reasons for suggesting the PB is that it has a more professional look than the iBooks.
Since you are an architect and into design, what better way to show off than to show your PB, whose industrial design to second to none!