PDA

View Full Version : Brother HL-1440 with a PC and Powerbook

EVEykel
Apr 29, 2004, 01:29 AM
Ok, here is my deal. I am brand new to the mac world and I'm having a hell of a time setting up my printer. I'm trying to print off of my new Powerbook over my wireless network. I have a PC desktop running Windows XP and I have a Brother HL-1440 printer hooked up to it. I've done some searching and it doesn't look like there is a driver out there for the HL-1440 that works with a mac. I tryed to install that gimp-print software but it didn't help a whole lot. No matter what I do, whenever I click print, the data light on the printer will flash and then it will go off without printing anything. I bought this printer about a year ago and I'm starting to think that I may have bought the most inconvenient one possible. Can anyone help? Thanks a lot.

Horrortaxi
Apr 29, 2004, 01:39 AM
Great printer--works fine in OS X. Download the driver from the brother website and you should be good. No need for gimp/cups/etc. It also works with the Airport Extreme base station, although Brother says it doesn't.

EVEykel
Apr 29, 2004, 01:53 AM
It worked fine when I plugged the USB directly in, but my problem comes when trying to print through my network. When I try to specify the printer model, my model isn't there. I've tried to download the driver from brother.com and it doesn't do anything that I can see. Do I need to do something to add the driver to the list after I install it? Like I said, I'm new to this mac thing.

bunnyrabbit
Apr 29, 2004, 07:21 AM