PDA

View Full Version : iPod 5th generation HD in iPod Classic




hatehereyes
May 12, 2009, 10:12 AM
Is it possible to put a 5th generation 30gb ipod hard drive into a 160gb ipod classic?

I broke off the battery pins on my 5th generation and the hard drive in my classic is dead.

I tried it this morning and the hard drive ribbons fit but I tried started it up and it gave me the big red X



carlosbutler
May 12, 2009, 10:23 AM
probably not - hence the red X. but trying searching youtube for a video on how to replace a hard drive in an ipod and they may also tell you where to get some firmware hack so that you are able to use it

hatehereyes
May 12, 2009, 10:27 AM
Yeah, but I don't see why it doesn't work.

but then again as soon as I saw the red X I had to leave to school so I didn't have any time to troubleshoot it.

Hopefully it's as simple as updating reformatting the drive since the 5th generation software is still on there.

Anyone else have any other ideas?

bozz2006
May 12, 2009, 11:48 AM
it doesn't work because the software used on a 5th gen is totally different than on a classic. have you tried restoring it with itunes? that resets everything. worth a shot.

hatehereyes
May 12, 2009, 12:13 PM
it doesn't work because the software used on a 5th gen is totally different than on a classic. have you tried restoring it with itunes? that resets everything. worth a shot.

Nah I didn't have time to try that this morning.
All I had time to do was transfer the 5th gen hard drive into the classic.

I'm almost certain restoring it with itunes would work since it's just a hard drive but I can only hope.

miles01110
May 12, 2009, 01:53 PM
I'm almost certain restoring it with itunes would work since it's just a hard drive but I can only hope.

You know that the firmware versions are different from iPod to iPod, right?

bozz2006
May 12, 2009, 03:09 PM
we've established that they're different, but the actual HDD should be compatible. It's just a matter of getting the classic software and firmware onto the HDD. I think it would be worth a shot to try restoring it to factory presets in itunes. If that doesn't work, I'm sure there are hacks that would work.

carlosbutler
May 12, 2009, 06:27 PM
not sounding aggressive, but why should they be compatible. apple may have hard drives coming from loads of different companies, with each batch of ipods different. it maybe that they specifically look the device so that this sort of thing is not done...

hatehereyes
May 12, 2009, 08:48 PM
So came home today and finished moving the drive from the 5th gen. to the Classic.

Everything worked out fine.
Formatted the drive and was able to restore it using iTunes.

Using a 30gb hard drive in a 160gb classic.


not sounding aggressive, but why should they be compatible. apple may have hard drives coming from loads of different companies, with each batch of ipods different. it maybe that they specifically look the device so that this sort of thing is not done...

A hard drive is a hard drive. It's just used to store information on it. In this case the iPods firmware.

bozz2006
May 12, 2009, 09:40 PM
sweet! glad it worked out for you.

instaxgirl
May 13, 2009, 05:09 AM
Happy days! :) Also, good to know!