Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ipedro

macrumors 603
Original poster
Nov 30, 2004
Toronto, ON
I'm a professional event photographer and have been using Aperture since 1.0. It's by far the best tool for the kind of work that I do, allowing me to stay in Aperture 99% of the time without having to go into Photoshop.

However, features in iPhoto such as Events, Faces and Places and great Facebook integration have me wanting to use iPhoto as well.

I settled on using Aperture for all my professional jobs which I organize by Client/Venue/Year/Project and iPhoto for my personal photos.

There are however, projects that I consider both personal and professional. When I travel, I get some great professional photos of the landmarks and people of my destination. But as a vacation, these photos should also reside in my iPhoto library because there are photos of myself and my girlfriend.

I've looked for ways to do this but didn't want to have duplicate photos in both libraries.

I noticed a checkbox in iPhoto Preferences/Advanced: Copy items to iPhoto Library.

Well, if I uncheck that box, and copy photos from the Aperture browser into iPhoto, voilá, I get a referenced file, not a duplicate. If anything changes in the Aperture photo, it is reflected in iPhoto as well.

... but hang on a second. Does this mean that when I import photos into iPhoto from a camera or from within Mail, that once I disconnect that camera or delete that email, the photos will disappear from iPhoto?

Can anybody offer the answer to that question? Advice?

Razeus

macrumors 603
Jul 11, 2008
The photos won't disappear, but when you click on them, you'll get a ! symbol.