PDA

View Full Version : Root Folder in Dreamweaver




Dal123
May 20, 2009, 03:34 PM
I've bought a teach yourself dreamweaver course and a book. I am trying to set-up the root folder.
I copied all pictures etc. to a folder, then choose it as my route folder. I then design a page and throw in my logo. I notice that compare to the training exercise on dvd I do not get a dotted line path inbetween my files. They are just green files. Also when I preview in my browser the picture does not come up. I worry that I am failing at the most basic task. I have managed to perform some basic animations in flash. But cannot design a simple web page. What am I doing wrong?
Any input much appreciated.



xrp123
May 20, 2009, 04:33 PM
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_2_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5H11 Safari/525.20)

Can you take a small screenshot of the green files?

Also paste some code and we can see if the image links are correct.

Dal123
May 22, 2009, 02:12 PM
Thanks, I've uploaded a screenshot of my files in dreamweaver. here is the code:

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
<head>
<title>Untitled Document</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
</head>

<body>
</body>
</html>

nuxx
May 24, 2009, 10:46 PM
There are a couple of other possibilities, but if that really is the source code for home.htm, then there's your problem. You don't have any content in the body tag, hence a blank page.

Dreamweaver has 3 folder views: local (green), testing (red) and remote (blue). Are you trying to preview home.htm from the local site or a remote site? If it's the latter, have you FTP'd your local files to the remote site?

xrp123
May 24, 2009, 11:34 PM
... I do not get a dotted line path inbetween my files. They are just green files.
Any input much appreciated.


Is these the lines you were talking about? If so, then you're pic looks like it is correct in terms of hierarchy (maybe the dotted lines are only on PC - my pic is from PC not mac).

If not, then I'm not sure which dotted lines you meant...
:confused:

G4DP
May 25, 2009, 02:45 PM
The dotted lines are only in Windows as Dreamweaver follows the OS's folder structure. It's nothing to worry about.

Also the code you gave shows no content, that would be the result for your empty page.

<body onload="MM_preloadImages('Gist Insurance Images/gist_button_home_over.jpg','Gist Insurance Images/gist_button_contact_over.jpg','Gist Insurance Images/gist_button_terms_over.jpg')">
<br />
<table width="1000" align="center">
<tr>
<td><div align="right"><img src="Gist Insurance Images/gist_link_text_banner.jpg" width="259" height="12" /></div></td>
</tr>
</table>
<table width="1000" align="center">
<tr>
<td><div align="center"><img src="Gist Insurance Images/gist_main_website_logo.jpg" width="833" height="127" /></div></td>
</tr>
</table>
<table width="1000" align="center">
.............
</body>

Is the sort of code you should be seeing.

Dal123
May 26, 2009, 12:43 PM
Thanks for input people, I think you are all right. Dotted lines on PC not mac. My logo is now appearing in the preview in browser. What I did was go through Adobe Image Ready and save as optimized. Then used that file, it now appears.
So I'm now one stage further. Thanks for input people.