PDA

View Full Version : Adobe CS4 Production Premium Vs. Final Cut EXPRESS

dansmith3003
May 23, 2009, 11:17 AM
Hi, I'm a graphic designer who's branching out into video production and am just wondering what would be the better option: Adobe CS4 Production Premium (with encore and premiere pro) or Final Cut Express. Does anybody have any experience with Encore and Premiere Pro Vs. Final Cut Express. As a student Production Premium box set is only 140 more expensive than Final Cut Express but yet you seem to get much more. Im guessing as the student version of Final Cut is only slightly cheaper than the entire Production box set of CS4 that it is better to get Final Cut Express as it must be a better piece of software and just use iDVD instead of getting the CS4 box set with Encore in it.

Any help on this matter would be appreciated.

arjen92
May 23, 2009, 03:11 PM
I use final cut pro. I once asked a person who studies journalisme (so he's not the right person but still) and uses avid, and he told me that all editing programs are in fact the same (they all cut, don't they:p), the buttons are just on other places. Ofcourse that's not entirely true, there are differences.

I must say, although I haven't used it, that encore gives a lot of freedom, more than DVD Studio Pro.

I assume you use Adobe in your designing, so you'll probably learn Premiere Pro faster. And it will fit better (I'm not saying final cut express wouldn't) in your workflow.

But for the real differences check this thread: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=699253

It's a fact that most people use Final Cut Studio as its cheaper and more abilities in one package(colouring in color, 3d in motion and such).

But ofcourse it depends on what you want. Do you want to sell your stuff. Then iDVD isn't your best choice (as it's not that original).

Good luck choosing.

djkirsten
May 24, 2009, 01:25 AM